Toni Otway MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Staten Island, NY

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.4)

24 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    17%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    21%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 26.8 minutes
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Easy Appointments
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2016
Excellent, compassionate, thorough
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Everyone in the office was exceedingly kind and helpful. The practitioners were thorough, not in any rush (despite a full waiting room), and very knowledgeable. First visit, and we'll be returning. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 9th, 2015
Rudest obgyn out there
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is so rude and has no bedside manner, she acts as if your questions are futile and makes sure you feel beneath her. I do not and will not ever recommend her to another person. So far as a doctor I have had no problems but she does the absolute minimum which when it comes to my health that frightens me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 28th, 2015
wouldn't recommend ...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor never told me about a growth I had on my ovary..until two years later. I had to undergo an unnecessary surgery to remove it. It could have been done two years ago when she initially saw it, but failed to tell me I had another procedure done at that time. The doctor apologized and said she felt "guilty" but lacked the courtesy of returning my call when I called specifically to tell her I wanted my mri results back immediately to see if my growth spread and looked cancerous. That was on a Friday morning and I didn't hear from her until Tuesday. No bedside manner and clearly not thorough. Camille is great and so are some of the other staff members. The technician was abrupt and lacked bedside manner as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 12th, 2013
An awful doctor
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Where do I begin? Dr. Otway must be a very popular doctor because her office is always packed with patients, all of whom are waiting to see her before you. This means the typical wait time is between one and two hours. I saw Dr. Otway during my second pregnancy, and she was so cold, so quick to dismiss me, and she showed so little interest that I switched doctors. She delivered bad news with the same tone and expression she always used, cool indifference. Whenever I had a question, she told me she didn't know the answer and sent me to a specialist who told me to speak to Dr. Otway about the results. A vicious cycle. This doctor has no compassion, no charm, and no sense of how to meet the needs of her patients. If you wish to be treated with respect and kindness by your physician, this doctor is not the right choice for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
July 25th, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office staff is friendly, helpful, and caring. Wait time isn't too bad. Dr. Otway is thorough, listens to your situation regarding your health issue; sometimes though, there's a sense that she's spent enough time, and is ready to leave the room before you finish your questions or concerns. But she is nice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 31st, 2011
No Emotions nor emphaty
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Otway is professional and quick. A gynecological exam is done with ease and her office is clean. But for a 1st time expecting mother, I had to find a midwife. Dr. Otway lacks the enthusiasm or personal touch. I mean---- its my first baby and I'm wracked with happiness, confusion and anxiety. Perhaps IF I'm jaded with 7 children, I wouldn't mind being poked on my private parts and belly with stoic indifference. Similar to a fast-food experience. Slam Bamm -- here's you food Maam

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 10th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 28th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 10th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 4th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Toni Otway, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Staten Island, NY.

Staten Island, NY
4.6
Staten Island, NY
4.5