ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Tonya Adams Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Tonya Adams?

Ratings and Reviews

21 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
39.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 21 Ratings with 9 Comments

1.0 Rating

October 16th, 2015

I had been waiting for a test result that Dr. Adam's ordered and her opinion/report about my medical issue for over a month, despite my follow up calls. Finally, I asked her assistant to send the Dr.’s report to my primary physician and I was told she would not issue a report. I visited this doctor to get her opinion, but received nothing and I only wasted my time and money.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 27th, 2015

It has been 6 days since an urgently ordered test was run. The results were faxed over to her office the day of the test yet no one has bothered to call me with the results despite 4 messages left. In desperation, I retrieved the results myself and had another physician go over them with me on Friday before the weekend. It is now the end of the work day Monday, and I still haven't heard from them. Thank goodness I learned there is nothing serious going on, but that doesn't excuse the lack of follow-up on a matter that could have been very serious.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 16th, 2015

Excellent, excellent GI! Only complaint- took me too long to find her.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 4th, 2013

Great doc but unavailable & horrible staff

Dr Adams is a thorough clinician who listens and tries to help. As many of the reviews point out, the office is a major problem. Plus Adams wants you to meet with her PA a lot rather than her. Appts are impossible to get in a normal amount of time. They schedule colonoscopies without a meeting with the doc first. I always was rushed and they were always late. My internist did tests, found out I had a parasite, and Adams sent me a letter saying I was fine after a review of the results! Oops on her! Went to an infectious disease doc who treated me for the parasite. Unfortunately I can't go back to Adams because it's too much stress dealing with the office and trying to get to her. Fairly unimpressive when I consider the parasite situation.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 20th, 2012

Seems to really care about her patients

Excellent bed side manner and spends enough time to ensure that she answers all of your questions. The wait is too long if you have a scheduled appointment.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 20th, 2012

GRRRREAT!

I was losing weight everyday. No DR knew what the problem was. She figured it out ASAP and got my weight back up and gave the correct meds. Now I no longer use meds. There are miracles from above and she is one too!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

August 27th, 2011

I came to see Dr. Adams because I have an ongoing abdominal issue that has gone undiagnosed and having already seen my GYN, primary care, etc . I waited in the waiting room for 30 minutes and hen sat in the exam room for another 30. One of the other MDs came in to "get me started" and when Dr. Adams finally arrived she told me she had no idea what the problem could be and assigned a bunch of tests that included colonoscopy and CT with iv contrast. I asked her if these were safe during pregnancy. She told me colonoscopy should be safe and wasn't sure about CT told me to ask the radiology center. I would assume any board certified physician could tell me if radiology is safe during pregnancy. Turns out the normal guidelines for this are no pelvic CT or colonoscopy during pregnancy unless it's a critical situation. Why his woman didn't explain his to me is alarming.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.7 Rating

August 13th, 2011

Great doctor, inefficient staff

Very high volume office with patients with high maintenance needs. My appt is always getting rescheduled and once was erroneously canceled without being told. Prescriptions are not call in correctly and cannot be filled properly and the pharmacist cannot get through to fix the error. Also had lab result put on an incorrect template. I though I had someone else's results! Left practice due to not needed this extra drama in my life.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

February 9th, 2011

Knows alot but too busy to share it with you!

The 1st visit went WELL, Dr.Adams seemed 2listen & be interested in finding an answer for me. After that, I had all the tests & lab work etc.I was asked 2come back for results in abt 10days & each time I couldn't get an appt for wks(usually over a mo). When I did get back in, I was left in the room for over 45mins like they forgot me. Forgetting me in the room seems 2b the "normal" now. Dr.Adams seems 2have lost interest in finding out what's wrong &more interested in rushing me out the door now. Her assistant Kathy,is HORRIBLE! I had a Rx that ran out &she told me I needed2 make an appointment b4 she would refill. I made the soonest appt but they couldn't see me for 1.5mo & my Rx ran out b4 that. I got drastically worse &she ignores voicemails. The pharmacy tried 2get in touch w/Kathy but NO WORD BACK.When you do talk 2her she is ALWAYS rude, like I'm wasting her time. Assistant Kathy is enough 2get a new Dr. even if you ignore the LOOOONG wait. The scheduling guy is AWESOME!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 29th, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 13th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 9th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Tonya Adams is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Fairfax, VA.

  • Dr. Amy Shah

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Fairfax, VA 0 mi

    4.8
    (19)
    10
  • Dr. Ivan Harnden

    Gastroenterology, Residency

    Fairfax, VA 0 mi

    4.6
    (8)
    7
  • Dr. Asma Khapra

    Dr. Asma Khapra

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Fairfax, VA 0 mi

    4.6
    (32)
    13