Dr. Toyooki Sonoda MD Patient Reviews

  • Colon and Rectal Surgery New York, NY

Overall Rating

4.4
  • 44 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.6)

44 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    73%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    11%
  • Bad
    5%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 26.4 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
September 28th, 2015
The Best!
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Couldn't ask for a better doctor. He listens to your concerns, answer all questions, and does an excellent job. I'd recommend Dr. Sonoda without any reservations whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 29th, 2015
Disappointed
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had heard that Dr. Sonoda was a brilliant surgeon. Fortunately I have not needed him yet, but I set up an appointment as I do need a GI surgeon. He was very brusque and dismissive, and without allowing me to explain my full history, swiftly dashed off a prescription that my internist later told me not to take as "it would do nothing to help." I'd like to give him the benefit of the doubt, but as of now I am pretty disappointed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 9th, 2014
not happy
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I did not have a good experience with Dr. Sonoda. After my surgery, my problem not only returned, but the surgery caused new problems. His staff was rude and incompetent in dealing with insurance issues. I do not think Dr. Sonoda has a good bedside manner--very detached and unresponsive. I would not recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 7th, 2012
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Four stars are not enough when rating Dr Sonoda. He is a wonderfully skilled surgeon as well as a very caring, concerned Dr. He always takes time to listen and explain the diagnosis and treatment. Amazingly, there is not even the slightest hint of ego or arrogance on his part. I feel very lucky to have found him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2009
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor.... any wait to see him is well worth it in my opinion! He is genuinely a nice guy and wants the best for all his patients!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
June 21st, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
nice guy but his staff can be rude making contacting him challenging
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 25th, 2008
The Best!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
The moment I met Dr. Sonoda, I knew that I was in the right hands. He is thoughtful, helpful, communicates information in a clear and accessible way, and is a caring physician.

5.0 of 5
July 7th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 15th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 16th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 16th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Toyooki Sonoda, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.