Dr. Troy Dickinson DO Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Patchogue, NY

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 44 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (+ 0.1)

44 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    34%
  • Great
    25%
  • Good
    9%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    25%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 17.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
December 14th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The office staff has been very nice the few times I went in. Appointments are pretty easy to schedule and I've never had a terribly long wait. I have been a patient of Dr. Dickinsons for about a year. In the last 4 years I have been to see my PCP 5 times, 3 of those times have been with Dr. Dickinson (my old PCP closed an office and his other office was too far away to remain a patient). My first visit with Dr. Dickinson was required for me to join the practice and went great. The 2 times I went in with actual concerns Dr. Dickinson was very dismissive, spoke down to me, and was extremely arrogant including rolling his eyes TWICE while I was talking. Needless to say I am looking for a new doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 29th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Love Dr. Troy - he is personable, I can ask him anything, he's been my primary for years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 16th, 2016
Bring back the old doctors
DO NOT like these doctors, or are they really doctors, I don't think I will ever go back there , where are all the good the good doctors, this is why I don't go to the doctor. It's to bad Dr. Bilmes isn't here anymore, at least when you went to his office you saw the Doctor of your choice and not all these other people coming in one by one looking at you and calling themselves doctors, and dr Bilmes office was well organized ,the staff knew what they were doing!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2015
Good doctors - bad place
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Troy -good doctor in a bad office. Too many doctors, front desk staff incompetent and poorly trained. Medical assistants aren't really professionals, they just took a course and then become an assistant. They are low salaried workers. I do however trust Dr. Troy, if he suspects something, he sends me to a specialist asap. He is also understanding of my anxiousness when I am there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 28th, 2014
good doctor, bad place
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr. Dickinson, however, he is caught up in poorly managed medical facility owned by Brookhaven Hospital. This is a medical mill with many doctors, and a staff at the desk that looks like they can't wait to go home. But don't let that dissuade you from seeing Dr. Troy. He is an excellent and knowledgeable doctor. I just with he would go back to private practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 6th, 2014
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Dickinson was a wonderful doctor until he got to involved with the residency program. The internes are terrible, they don't return calls, it sometimes takes weeks to get test results. Have to wonder how many patients have been injured by not getting test results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 10th, 2013
Luv Dr. Troy - hate the place
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I think Dr. Dickinson is an excellent doctor caught up in a poorly managed medical mill. The office staff always look like they can't wait to go home, and some of them get annoyed if you ask too many questions. That whole group needs to be replaced. Brookhaven Hospital owns this place (any questions?) and unfortunately a good doctor like Dr. Troy has chosen to work here. He is knowledgeable, friendly and calming. I just wish he would go back to a private practice. Its very hard to get to see him. I think that he preferred to be a teacher rather than a doctor here. I guess sooner or later I will have to switch but I hope I can continue with him. Its just the clinic-type atmosphere about this office that I hate, and the girls that answer the phones are arrogant and rude. UGH
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 12th, 2013
Run Away Fast
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Front staff is badly trained and does not know how to deal with patient complaints. The charts are NEVER accurate and shoddily kept. The medical staff is very uneven, ranging from a few good doctors to the most mediocre, i.e. Dr. Dickenson. The primary purpose of this practice is to train residents--it is NOT patient care. Go to a proper private practice instead, where the doctor is the same one you will always see and who knows who you are. Dickenson is smug, not particularly bright, and lazy--very dangerous combos for medicine! AVOID.

5.0 of 5
November 20th, 2012
Efficient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really must say Dr Dickinson took exceptional care and interest in my health and my family's health. His asian resident physicians are all very good too
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 16th, 2012
Medical mill
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr. Dickinson, however, since he has been in this facility, the place is run like a mill. You cannot get to see Dr. Dickinson anymore unless you pick one of the residents as your doctor, then he can oversee your care. I do not want a resident to be my primary care doctor. I don't feel that they have the experience I would require. They grab your copay the second you come in. Business as usual!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 30th, 2011
diabetes expert
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
dr dickinson managed and still continues to take care of my diabetes (along with his junior doctors) better than any endocrinologists that i've seen over the past 20+ years. i like most of the staff there, especially hallowell and dr aggrawal. however, i do not recommend dr ramses, as she is the one who laughed and ignored at a problem that i wanted to discuss seriously. overall, an excellent practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 30th, 2011
needs to increase his availability
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
we love troy, and some of his residents are really excellent, wished he had more open appointments!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Troy Dickinson, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Patchogue, NY.