Dr. Troy Vaughn MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Alexandria, LA

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 26 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.5)

26 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    15%
  • Poor
    15%
  • Bad
    19%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 31 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2017
Worst Doctor visit in my life.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very unprofessional. We went in with DR. Vaughn's office being highly recommend by a family member. We experienced every thing bad as stated previously in the reviews with the exception of the Nurse Practitioner being rude. He was great and we really like him. The Dr. Himself was the problem. If you want a doctor to discuss a treatment plan with you, go else where. He went over the problem very throughly however we were told with his back to us as he walked away something about injections and surgery. We were left confused and dumb founded. Told the nurse we didn't understand what was going on and she laughed and told us to ask the lady that does scheduling about the treatment. She evidently has "notes". She was unable to answer our questions. We ended up leaving. We will be going else where. I've heard that similar experiences have happened with other people. The worse experience ever with a doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 26th, 2016
Waste of time
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went to see him the day of my appointment after waiting just a few days shy of a month after being referred to him was informed my appointment was rescheduled to a month later with no notice and no letter I took off work to see this man and was turned away lets just say that the incompetence of his staff has made me wonder about him and I have already made a appointment for another doctor and Dr Vaughn will not be seeing me under his knife
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 28th, 2016
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor was nice but his office staff was very rude . They never return your calls. The length of time it takes to get in was long .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 19th, 2015
Exceptional Service...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As a patient of Dr. Vaughn for ten years, I've found his staff, PA, Nurse Pract, and DR Vaughn himself to be the best Neuro-Surgeon in a 100 mile radius. His office is very busy considering there are only 3 neurosurgeons to cover that 100 mile radius. I might have waited longer than expected for my apt, but when I was taken back to the room I received the upmost care from all of his providers. I also had disability forms that needed to be completed, and had to pay 20.00 for the forms to be completed, and thought that was absolutely normal, bc all doctors Ive ever been to charge for this type of service. I understand everyone is in pain that comes to DR Vaughns office, and I was with my neck. But I also know that when a Neurosurgeon is on call, and they take care of serious accidents, brain bleeds, brain tumors and gunshot wound, they were far my serious than mine. I would server my pain.. People are always quick to judge, on how they didn't see the doctor, but everything the PA and Nurse PR actioner speak with you about, are all reviewed with DR Vaughn before the plan of care is made. This clinic has two secretaries, that take care many duties, receiving over 200 calls on a daily basis, receive a large amount of referral, and see clinic patients everyday... So before your quick to judge a medical clinic, realize they are people just like me and you, and are not just sitting around partying. Thanks
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
October 16th, 2013
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After being diagnosed with a brain tumor, I saw Dr. Vaughn only twice. While this review, in all fairness, is not so much about Dr. Vaughn but his PA. The PA that he has is rude, has no compassion and is an all out *sshole. Dr. Vaughn has a warmer personality and I appreciated his work, however, throughout my 4 days in ICU I was only seen by the PA and not Dr. Vaughn. You also don't get to see Dr. Vaughn after your follow up because after he operates he is done with you. I absolutely had the WORSE ICU nurses ever @ Rapides. In fact, I had to formally complain after I was moved to a room on the floor because the nurse found LOTS of medication that was documented that I was given, but of coarse was not!!! They even asked me what kind of meds they were. Are you kidding me...I just had brain surgery. And I did not appreciate the ICU nurse stating "we have to get you weaned off the pain meds" . Really??? Let me see anyone have the surgery I had and not be hurting. Again, Dr. Vaughn is a great surgeon but his staff, PA and choice of hospital are horrible. If my tumor ever comes back, I will find another surgeon for sure.

5.0 of 5
February 26th, 2013
Pain taken care of...
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After seeing our Mother in pain for the last 10 or so yrs,this man gave her life back.She is totally pleased with his work can't say the same for the hospital she was in.Very poor bedside manners and very poor staffing.Dr Vaugh was very prompt at his work and our family thanks him a great deal..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
January 22nd, 2012
Poor Attitude of Staff
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It is difficult to rate Dr. Vaughn because after waiting for one month in horrific pain, I did not get to see him. I saw his PA, who asked me why didn't I call if I wanted a steroid injection, as I was being led to the exam room. I came to see THEM for what I needed. Then I found out that they lost my first MRI (the one that they refused to schedule, but told me I should bring one. A chiropractor finally scheduled one for me). I have been suffering all through the holidays with pinched nerve and sciatic pain. You only get an appointment after talking to his nurse, who you talk to only on voice mail. After the visit, I was to be scheduled for another MRI and injection. It has been 10 days and my MRI and injection have not yet been scheduled. In the meantime, I have found a new Dr. in Shreveport, 150 miles away. Dr. Vaughn did cervical surgery on me 4 years ago and it was fine, however his staff have no compassion on anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 28th, 2011
simply the best in central louisiana
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2011
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am a workman's comp patient who went in for one injury and was told I ahad to be treated for another old injury before I could be released back to work. The additional treatment was denied by workman's comp and the doctor still refuses to release me back to work after surgery. I only saw his PA for follow-up. They do not return phone calls for days on end. Therapy still has not been set up 4 weeks later. No, I am not happy with the doctor. I have only seen him once.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 11th, 2010
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I believe I received the very best of care from Dr. Vaughn. He was very knowledgable and also very caring. The only thing I can say that would be an improvement is that after surgery for my follow up appts., I have not seen him. But I have still received excellent care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
January 6th, 2010
ovrall review of Dr Vaughn
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husbands appointment was at 11:30. We were finally called into his office around 1:00. He only spent a minimal amount of time with us considering my husband had been in severe pain for weeks. When asked to fill out a physicians report so we could begin his diability we were told that his patients came first. What were we? I took over a week to get the paper filled out and then were charged a fee in order to fill out the form. This was very disturbing and really caused some serious doubts in our confidence in him as a compassionate doctor. His office seemed to care more about money than the wellfare of his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
December 1st, 2009
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
You always have to leave a message because not even his secretary has the time to talk to you. If they call back it may not be for a couple days.Even getting your records transferred to another doctor from his office seem to take a couple weeks. Maybe the fax machine is too complicated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Troy Vaughn, MD is similar to these 2 Doctors near Alexandria, LA.