Dr. Valerie Muoio MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 46 patient ratings
  • 18 reviews

Last 12 months:

4.9 (+ 1.4)

18 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    54%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    26%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 16.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2014
Former Patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Valerie Muoio performed my cesarean section (twins), after having two previous ones. Her surgical skills are wonderful! You can barely see her incision! She's the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 31st, 2014
Horrible bedside manner and attitude
Wow is all I can say... Why be involved in a profession such as healthcare if you don't like dealing with people? I looked up her ratings after I had an experience with her as an on call doctor and I am not surprised that other people have encountered the same problems with this Doctor. Couldn't believe the attitude she had and rude disposition she gave me for simply asking questions. Her introduction to me was even cold. She literally introduced herself and stared blankly at my face. Can you say awkward? I told her my concerns and she responded in a defensive and dismissive tone. She made me feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. I hope I never see her again. She should take some bedside manner courses and change her attitude.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 26th, 2014
Horrible OB
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is my first pregnancy and despite of average reviews on this doctor, I decided to give her a chance. She is arrogant, doesnt answer questions and if you ask her a question she looks at you very annoyed. I suffered from severe nausea and vomiting in my first trimester and she kept saying it's normal until my primary doctor AZRA WIQAS prescribed me Zofran. I had an ultrascreen test done in my 12th week and since she didnt review my record she informed me late (my 16th week) that I had an abnormal test. She forgot to order a quad test last time I was seen by her in my 15th week and the nurse called me after I left the office that the doctor forgot to tell me. I have now changed doctors as I had the worse experience of my life with her. I would give her 0 stars if that was possible, she should quit her practice as she would be doing her patients a favor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 7th, 2014
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I used to like Dr. Muoio, she was pleasant, quick and efficient. This was my opinion of her when my visits were "business as usual". The first time I ever had a problem and needed more of her time and attention, I was belittled, rushed, hushed, and given the worst possible advice I have ever heard a medical professional give. I had made the decision to go off of birth control after 5+ yrs, which resulted in my menstrual cycle being completely thrown out of whack. After merely talking to me, Dr. Muoio very casually and nonchalantly diagnosed me with PCOS before every doing a pelvic exam or a blood test. Having never heard of this before in my life, I asked what it was, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome she replied. Still having no idea what this was, I asked her to explain. After giving me a very vague definition, her only suggestion was for me to go back on the birth control. This made no sense to me, as I was trying to rid my body of excess hormones and get it back to normal without meds, which I also told her. She gave me no further information about the disorder and insisted this was the only course of action. After leaving her office I was scared and confused, I had no idea what what wrong with me or how to fix it. After insisting on some blood work (which I had to request for her to do), much research and 2 phone calls with her, I decided to buck her advice and go the natural route. I have been taking the herbal supplement Vitex for the last year and my menstrual cycle is almost completely back to normal. Dr. Muoio was the most insensitive, uncaring, pompous Dr I have ever had the displeasure of coming in contact with. Needless to say I am no longer a patient. She would be better served taking a few minutes to act like a human being with her patients than rushing them out, only to be late for her next appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2013
Fabulous Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Valerie has been an outstanding doctor through out our first pregnancy. Not only is she a lovely person she is patient and makes sure all of our questions are answered prior to us completing each visit. Since she is part of a group; for one visit we met with another Doctor in her group and were greeted with equal care and pleasantness. The staff is exceptional as well. The whole experience has been fantastic and we can't wait to utilize their services in the years to come.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 25th, 2012
RETURN MY CALL PLEASE
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
UPON FINDING OUT I WAS PREGNANT FOR THE FIRST TIME, I CALLED TO SET UP AN APT. I WAS TOLD TO WAIT 6 MORE WEEKS BEFORE COMING IN. WHEN I ASKED IF THERE WERE ANYWAY TO SPEAK WITH HER CONCERNING THE MANY QUESTIONS I HAD (WHAT TO EAT/NOTTO EAT..ECT) I WAS TOLD TO EAT WHATEVER I WANTED AND TO WAIT FOR APT. i CALLED BACK TO ASK IF I SHOULD BE ON PRENATAL VITAMINS AT LEAST AND THE DESK CLERK SAID, "OH YEAH, YOU SHOULD..LEAVE A MES FOR A NURSE TO CALL YOU BACK"I LEFT A MESSAGE AND AM STILL WAITING FOR A RETURN CALL. NEEDLESS TO SAY I AM SEARCHING FOR A A NEW OBGYN. I ALWAYS FELT RUSHED WITH MY APTS DESPITE HAVING MEDICAL ISSUES BUT NOW I REFUSE TO RUSH WITH MY BABY'S LIFE TOO.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 17th, 2012
My doctor for over ten years
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am older and she alway shows respect and is easy to talk to. She takes the time to explain. I find her gentle and patient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 15th, 2012
I love her
Wait time
10 minutes
She learned medicine from the competent ob/gyn in NY Dr. Vincent Mastrota her Dad. He delivered me and I love both of them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 3rd, 2012
GREAT DOCTOR
Wait time
15 minutes
By the end of the visit we were talking like old friends! I would definitely recommend her to my friends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 27th, 2012
RUDE DOCTOR
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I used to like Dr. Muoio a lot. Last few years, she became very cold and rude with how she spoke to me. At 36, she told me I was too old to not have had a baby yet and I didnt have time. She said she doesnt get why its so hard for me to make it happen. I was so upset; I did my best not to cry right there. If thats her honest opinion, she couldve said it in a nicer more professional way. I felt like she was yelling at me and talking down to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 14th, 2011
Run, don't walk away from Dr. Valerie Muoio
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A very nasty person. I went to Dr. Valerie Muoio for my first gynecological exam. She rolled her eyes at me when I told her it was my first exam of this nature, I was a bit older to be having my first exam. She inflicted the most excruciating pain I have ever felt when scraping my cervix. I know this level of pain is not normal as I have many exams since, none of which were painful. I was utterly wincing in pain, she just looked at me and said, "Did that really hurt?" I could tell that the nurse attending the exam was horrified by what she was witnessing. Run, do not walk away from Dr. Valerie Muoio. Find a kind, caring doctor, don't settle for anything less. Follow your instincts, if you think you are not being treated well or competently, look for a new doctor, you will find a good one, it just takes time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 20th, 2011
My doc for over 15 years!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr Muoio for a very long time and trust her skill and judgement 100%. She is deff no nonsense BUT she has always provided me with excellent health care!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Valerie Muoio, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Great Neck, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Nirmala Pillalamarri

6 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jeanne Rohan

17 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Audrey Murray

7 years experience

4.3 of 5