The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Valiant Tan Is this you?

Filter Reviews

13 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.9
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
34.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Valiant Tan?

Showing 12 of 13 Ratings

Compassionate, Straight-forward, Doesn't Rush

Posted on July 29th, 2013

My mother had stage-4 cancer when she first was referred. Dr. Tan spent time with the entire family, didn't pull punches, but suggested a mild treatment to keep her as comfortable as possible. She had seen a cardiologist and pulmonologist as well as her family doctor on a regular basis, but they all dropped the ball. The cardiologist even had her on a tread-mill. So Dr. Tan was a breath of fresh air, albeit too late. He, however, answered all the questions we had so she could face her limited future with a clear vision.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Kgrammy24

Posted on December 15th, 2011

Dr. Tan is an EXCELLENT doctor. He strives to get to the bottom of each and every problem and is most compassionate and attentive.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Substandard, Negligent treatment

Posted on December 13th, 2011

I am giving the Elizabeth City office and Dr. Tan of VOA 1 star, only because 0 isn't an option. During our dear friend's entire treatment, he was never told, due to negligence and/or intentional deception for profit, that his diagnosis was stage 4 cancer. Up until the last month of his life, when he obtained a second opinion, Dr. Tan and his physician's assistant told him he was getting better and that his tumors were shrinking, when in fact, the cancer was spreading. We know this first-hand because we accompanied him to all of his appointments. Because of the substandard care we observed from day one, we encouraged our friend to seek another opinion many times but, despite his better instincts, he remained encouraged by the positive reports he was receiving. His condition declined steadily but his stage 4 diagnosis was never conveyed until a family member was told when requesting transfer of his medical records to his new physician. Please don't trust VOA with your care or that of a loved one.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 21st, 2010

Dr. Tan went out of his way to to help me, when other doctors were dropping the ball.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 1st, 2010

Dr Tan is a very caring and knowledgeable doctor. He was able to guide me in many aspects during my cancer treatment. His manner was caring and concerned and he has a great staff, particularly his chemo nurses.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 27th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on June 16th, 2016

Four Stars

Posted on February 24th, 2016

Four Stars

Posted on August 11th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on March 10th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on March 5th, 2015

Three Stars

Posted on March 2nd, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Valiant Tan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Elizabeth City, NC.