The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Valiant Tan Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Valiant Tan?

Ratings and Reviews

12 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    7
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    1
  • Excellent
    7
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
34.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 12 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 29th, 2013

Compassionate, Straight-forward, Doesn't Rush

My mother had stage-4 cancer when she first was referred. Dr. Tan spent time with the entire family, didn't pull punches, but suggested a mild treatment to keep her as comfortable as possible. She had seen a cardiologist and pulmonologist as well as her family doctor on a regular basis, but they all dropped the ball. The cardiologist even had her on a tread-mill. So Dr. Tan was a breath of fresh air, albeit too late. He, however, answered all the questions we had so she could face her limited future with a clear vision.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 15th, 2011

Kgrammy24

Dr. Tan is an EXCELLENT doctor. He strives to get to the bottom of each and every problem and is most compassionate and attentive.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 13th, 2011

Substandard, Negligent treatment

I am giving the Elizabeth City office and Dr. Tan of VOA 1 star, only because 0 isn't an option. During our dear friend's entire treatment, he was never told, due to negligence and/or intentional deception for profit, that his diagnosis was stage 4 cancer. Up until the last month of his life, when he obtained a second opinion, Dr. Tan and his physician's assistant told him he was getting better and that his tumors were shrinking, when in fact, the cancer was spreading. We know this first-hand because we accompanied him to all of his appointments. Because of the substandard care we observed from day one, we encouraged our friend to seek another opinion many times but, despite his better instincts, he remained encouraged by the positive reports he was receiving. His condition declined steadily but his stage 4 diagnosis was never conveyed until a family member was told when requesting transfer of his medical records to his new physician. Please don't trust VOA with your care or that of a loved one.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 21st, 2010

Dr. Tan went out of his way to to help me, when other doctors were dropping the ball.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 1st, 2010

Dr Tan is a very caring and knowledgeable doctor. He was able to guide me in many aspects during my cancer treatment. His manner was caring and concerned and he has a great staff, particularly his chemo nurses.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 16th, 2016

4.0 Rating

February 24th, 2016

4.0 Rating

August 11th, 2015

5.0 Rating

March 10th, 2015

5.0 Rating

March 5th, 2015

3.0 Rating

March 2nd, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 Rating

September 1st, 2010

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Valiant Tan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Elizabeth City, NC.

  • Dr. Daniel Atienza

    Dr. Daniel Atienza

    Medical Oncology, Hematology

    Elizabeth City, NC 0 mi

    3.9
    (14)
    34
  • Dr. Shaker Saman

    Dr. Shaker Saman

    Hematology and Oncology, Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology, Hematology

    Elizabeth City, NC 0 mi

    3.3
    (6)
    21
  • Dr. Edward George

    Dr. Edward George

    Medical Oncology, Internal Medicine, Hematology

    Elizabeth City, NC 0 mi

    3.0
    (2)
    46