Dr. Van Scott MD Patient Reviews

  • General Practice New Castle, PA

Overall Rating

4.7
  • 17 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

17 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    88%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    6%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 20 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2010
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Definition of "chronic" pain, some people should look that up. Most people don't know what "chronic" pain is about. In eighteen and a half years I have learned what chronic pain is about. At 27 years old my first doctor said I was too young for pain medication. After going through other doctors with antidepressants and Klopin they thought they were helping me. Turns out I lost nine months of my life. I couldn't remember phone numbers, places I've been, people I've seen, and had to look at pictures of my own daughter's baptism in my own house to remember it. I guess those medications didn't work. Ten years ago, throwing a football to my son caused me to twist and fall to the ground in pain. I was never able to ride a bike with my children, I was never able to do a lot of things with my children because of pain. When I started seeing Dr. Scott, he gave me the medications that I needed to function during the day. Even with those medications if I overdid it physically I could be laid up on the couch for 2-4 days at a time, hurting so bad that I waited to the last minute to get up to use the bathroom. Dr. Scott gave me those medications to keep me able to function on a daily basis. If I had never seen Dr. Scott my quality of life would not even be half of what it is today. I have a serious problem with a small spinal canal. This problem has gotten worse over the last eighteen and a half years. No doctor that I have seen, and I have seen many credible surgeons, would even think of performing surgery on my back. So it comes down to choices. Don't walk at all, take pain medication, or have sugery that is going to paralyze me. By the way, one of these days if one of the four discs pop I will be paralyzed anyway. By seeing Dr. Scott, and him precribing these medications for me it has helped me to function somewhat normally. I have lost a lot of things over the past eighteen and a half years that I should have done with my children. It's just too bad that I didn't meet Dr. Scott a lot earlier. As far as the people who have this (grudge) against Dr. Scott for percribing these medications Do you know what chronic pain is? It doesn't go away, it continues to get worse and worse and worse hence the word CHRONIC. I owe years of my life to Dr. Scott for the help he has given me. Without him there are alot of things that I would not be able to do with my children and in my daiy life. So I just want to say to these people, that without Dr.Scott's help I wouldn't have made it this far. So to these people who are prosecuting or have a vendetta against a doctor who has helped many people I say get out a dictionary and look up the word CHRONIC. May you never have to live with the definition I'm sure if you did you would look at Dr. Scott in an entirely differnt light. He has helped me when no one else could or would and for that I am indebted to him, truly, Thank You Dr. Scott.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 17th, 2010
Absolutely agree w/ last comment about Dr. Scott
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been a patient of Dr. Scott for over 3 years. And I,like the last patient, lost my insurance & to this day am unable to get insurance; every company denies me due to past medical history,even though my car accident was 12 years ago. 12 years ago I was in a horrible car accident which I had to spend several months in the hospital for. I was temporarily parylized & had to learn how to move my arms & legs again. I've gone thru so many surgeries,injections,you name it. And I've been taking pain meds for years now.My orthopedic surgeon said I'd have to the rest of my life;either that or keep trying new surgeries,which is impossible without insurance!! So far,I've had a plate/7screws put in my arm,plate/4screws in my pelvis&screws in my hips & a ton of injections that only made things worse! Dr. Scott thoroughly examed me before taking me in as a patient after my last dr. did pretty much what the same thing as the last pt who commented, dropped me like a hot potatoe! He's always spent time w/ me every visit. I haven't been to his offices 1 time in over 3 years where he didn't.He prescibes medications to people who need them & as for what these people did after he gave them their meds,such as selling them,is out of his control. I'm pretty sure if people did their research a little better, they'd find out that most Pain Management Dr.s are going to have some bad patients that do so.I used to work for a Pain Management Dr. in Ohio who absolutely OVERPRESCRIBED & literally was killing his patients & did many of them! Nothing happens to him,only his patients that are selling the Rx's. So why accuse Dr. Scott of something he has no control over. How is he to know what his pt's do once they leave his office?Should he follow them around to check up on them?? So, basically, he has some bad patients,like all Dr's do,& that has to ruin things for all of his good pt's who really need the meds & for him??!! Why don't the Police worry about the bad pt's & give them the correct punishment to scare any potential new pt's from doing so, so the good pt's & a good Dr. don't have to pay for their ignorance???
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 14th, 2010
Truth about Dr. Scott!!!!!!
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr. Scott a few years ago, after I was dropped like a hot potatoe from another New Castle Pain Clinic, when I lost my insurance. I was on MS Contin and Vicodin and they were giving me shots in my spine. When I lost my insurance and after they distroyed my spine with injections they left me alone to withdrtaw off ther Morphine they were giving me cold turkey. I never was able to regain function of my daily living activities until I started being treated by dr. Scott. I was thoroughly screened before I was accepted by his office. The information about Dr. Scott is nothing but a lie. I have been given exams and BP and vital signs checked every visit. I thank GOD for this Dr. because before he started to treat me I couldnt even give myself a bath or do my own housework. I could function after going to this Dr. I'm 59 yrs old with a debilitating disease. Not a drug addict or a dope peddler. Now I can't get my meds and am beginning to debilitate again. You people need to look at the good this Dr. has done for people like me. LEAVE HIM ALONE!

5.0 of 5
May 14th, 2010
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I spent 5 years with dr scott he is wonderful
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2010
Lynching of Dr.Van Edward Scott
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'd just like to say that Dr. Scott is one of the best doctor's out there. I sever from numerous medical condtion's. Unlike some people they can take motrin and asprin etc. I have a bleeding disorder called Von Wille Brand's Disease, in short my blood don't clot, so other means of pain relieve that are considered the norm cannot be used in my case. For year's I severed from a pain condtion that most medical doctors don't believe in called Fibromyalgia, was put on so many meds I lost count, with results of sever allergic reaction's resulting in rare side effects, such as bleeding of the stomach, etc. Then, about a year later I was dx with Lupus disease and had been through the ringer, back and forth to several specialist, only to be over medicated, 150mg of Amitriptiline for my imsomia that is caused by the fibro, along with anxiety due to the fibro. Going into see Dr. Scott,he found that I was on a dose that they used on an elephant, surprising enough he caught the mistake, I believe he saved my life.... I can tell you I was not a functionable person, my quality of life was grim. I had no hope, I have an 18yr old daughter in college, a 2yr old grandson and was never able to play my part as a parent or grandparent. Dr.Scott just don't throw you on "NARCOTICS," as the news and everyone is saying. And when the drug for fibro came out called Lyrica he was the first to say this is new but I think we should give it a try. Amazing, added to my other medication regimen and I am able to care for my home front, my husband, my family.I may add that Dr. Scott has the most toughest screening to get into his office, and he does random drug screenings, med counts, what more does the state want from him, he has done everything to filter out people who obviously are abusers. I totally believe the state is singling Dr. Scott out for believing in the oath he took as a doctor, to care for his patient's and to be sure they don't suffer. I severed for almost 2yrs with pain that was not controlled with tylenol, constant trips to the ER in agony. Until you have experienced this in your life who are you to judge this man for upholding his believes and oath.Further, I was an RN for 15yrs and never crossed paths with a doctor with believes like Dr.Scott, I have watched plenty of patients' suffer because for some reason if your medicating someone with semi-terminal or terminal illnesses the doctor is doing something wrong. Or if you have a sever back injury and you can't even bend over to tie your own shoes, in the states eyes your not worthy of being pain free. I mean why has the FDA improved this form of pain relieve if their only going to lynch the doctor for upholding his believes. I believe Dr.Scott will be vindicated on all charges and hopefully regain his license in ALL states and continue to help those he's been helping from the suffering they have endured because THERE aren't many doctor's out there who hold true to the oath they took when they became doctors'! Dr. Scott will be in our prayers to overcome these outrageous allegation...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 11th, 2010
VERY Compassionate Doctor.
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Scott is a Great Doctor. I know the papers are trying to make him look like a monster, and I bet the person who gave him a 1 star rating is not a patient and just going by what they are reading in the papers. First off, to become a patient of Dr. Scotts, you go to a Government Agency called People in Need. At this Agency you are evaluated to make sure you are not a drug addict, given a background check to make sure you were never convicted of a Drug offense, given a urine to make sure that you have no drugs in your system that shouldn't be there, and counceled about the pain medications and the risks of addiction. This all must be done before Dr. Scott will even consider taking the patient. Along with that, you need either a referal from another Dr. stating the patient needs Pain Management or have been in Pain Management prior. With all these precautions taking, how can he be to blame for prescribing to drug dependant people? Why don't they go after the people who were paid to evaluate these people? After going through all that, Dr. Scott will then review the patients medical records, along with the findings at People in Need, and the referal, and will then decide whether he will see the patient or not. Once an appointment is made, if you were previously in Pain Management, you need to bring a printout of your prescription history with you to the appointment. Dr. Scott will then see the patients every 2 weeks for the first two months (if not longer) he sees you as a patient to monitor the patients better. He also makes ALL patients sign a Pain Management agreement that subjects the patients to random pill counts & random drug screens. If you are chosen for a random drug screening, you have one hour from the time you leave his office to get to People in Need again for the urine drug screening. After he decides to see the patient once a month, instead of every two weeks, he gives his patients the choice if they want to continue to get their prescriptions every two weeks or once a month, as I decided every two weeks was fine and I would imagine alot of his patients just stayed with two week supplies. This explains why he would have 60% more prescriptions then other doctors, because all the other doctors around here at least prescribe only month supplies, so if one doctor has 500 patients and writes a month supply and Dr. Scott has 500 patients and writes two week supplies, of course Dr. Scott is going to have more prescriptions written out. As far as Dr. Scott having 500 patients, as it says in the papers, which I think that number is probably including all the patients who have been discharged for pill counts or failed urine tests, but if Dr. Scott sees 30 patients a day, which is a low number for any Dr. to see in a day, times 4 days a week, that's 120 patients a week, times four weeks in a month, that's 480 patients right there. They also tried to make Dr. Scott look bad by saying he only accepts cash. The reason for this is also simple, he does not want to be told by an insurance company who does and doesn't need his services. He took auto insurances and other forms of insurance when he first came to the area, but after a few months, the insurance companies would call him and say that the people no longer needed pain management, so an insurance guy would be making a medical decision which is just wrong as far as I'm concerned. I don't blame him one bit for not wanting to deal with insurance companies. Dr. Scott DOES examine his patients every single visit. I have been in pain management for 13 years, and he examines me more every single visit than any other Dr. I've ever been to. He also makes all his patients go through some sort of physical therapies, preferably twice monthly. All his patients are expected to see the person of their choice one to two times a month for message therapy, physical therapy or chiropractic therapy. The only patients of his that don't have to do some sort of therapy is patients that another Doctor or Surgeon prohibit from being manipulated, or patients that have letters from other Doctors saying that none of those options of therapy would be beneficial to the patient. There is no law that limits the number of pills a doctor can write, so why they print that he is over prescribing is beyond me. That is matter of opinion, and if they can convict him on matter of opinion, then we are ALL in trouble. That's like one insurance guy writing a policy and another insurance guy saying that policy shouldn't have been written for that amount and the writer of the policy being charged because they didn't agree on the amount the policy was written for. It's all matter of opinion. Just because one doctor doesn't agree with the amount being prescribed doesn't mean 50 others won't agree with him, especially Pain Management Doctors that are not being paid by the DEA. I just don't know what more Dr. Scott could be expected to do, in my opinion he goes above and beyond with the precautions he takes. And I will say it again and again Dr. Scott is a VERY good man. I can't believe they want to condemn him because 11 of his patients were selling their meds. If it is true and he does have 509 patients, that's 2% of his patients. What about the other 98% of his patients? I'd be willing to bet that doctors that prescribe insulin have 2% of their patients selling their needles on the streets, or doctors that prescribe Viagra have way more than 2% of their patients selling their Viagra. So please, don't believe everything you read in the newspapers, or at least understand thats just one side of the story.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 9th, 2010
Great Doctor
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If not For Dr. Scott I would not be Alive today.I was in so much pain,I wanted to end my life,if not for his close and careing decisions,about my therapies and control of my pain thresh hold,I could not have a five year old daughter and my girlfriend,who is a inspiration to me because of her fight with ewings sarcoma and lost her leg to this terrible cancer,Icould not of made it through all this.I still have depression and I still have trouble moving around but if not for Dr.Scott I Would not be here to enjoy what I have Now,Thanks Doc for giving part of my life back if not for You i would not be here i would not have a daughter and I would still be totally bed ridden from my broken back and my disabiltaing back problems...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 15th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 4th, 2011
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 16th, 2011
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 10th, 2010
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 17th, 2010
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Van Scott, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New Castle, PA.