The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Vance Alm Is this you?

Filter Reviews

60 Ratings • 7 Comments

4.3
  • 42
  • 3
  • 6
  • 3
  • 6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Vance Alm?

Showing 12 of 60 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on August 3rd, 2016

I have been going to Dr. Alm since 2008..spends alot of time with you.. Listens to all of your symptoms and goes from there.. Probably why he runs a little late sometimes.. He moved and i followed. Great doctor.. Hif he cant figure it out in a couple of visits.. Sends me to a specialist..

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 29th, 2015

Dr. Alm is a great doctor, he is there for my entire family.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

would not recommend

Posted on January 27th, 2015

Very bad bedside manner. Would not recommend

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

tick bite

Posted on February 18th, 2014

He diagnosed me with a tick bite.Told me that the tick would fall off by- it- self. It did not, so he gave me a death sentence! If only i had listened to my gut and had it removed by a surgeon.No i do not recomend this Dr!

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on August 3rd, 2011

I have been going to Dr. Alm's office for about a year now and I am going to change doctors. Every time I go for a visit, I show up on time and yet I end up waiting for at least 45 mintues to even get called back. I usually spend close to 2 hours for a well baby check up. My last appointment I asked the front desk if they knew when I was going to be called back because I had been waiting so long and they just told me, "Oh it will be just a minute, the nurse is getting all the immunizations ready." It takes 45 minutes to do that! I am not impressed with the visits either. They never tell me my child's percentiles. My son had a rash and the medication I was given had steroids in it. The pharmacist told me to use it sparingly because of the steriods. My son was 4 months old at the time and the doctor didn't mention anything about steroids. Also my son had some eye problems so the doctor gave me drops that aren't supposed to be used on children younger than 3 years. Yet when my son had painful gas at 1 month, I asked if it was all right to give him gas drops and was told , no that medication should not be given to such a young baby and I need to burp him better. Also when my child needed shots I had a ton of trouble because they weren't doing immunizations there for a while. Well they didn't have all the shots that my son needed at his appointment so I was told to call back and check. I called and was told his shots were there. I showed up for an appointment (where I had to wait 30 minutes) to go back and be told that no his shots weren't there. It would be different it if was just me attending these appointments, but I have 2 children and the wait times are far too long for them. I was also waiting on a referral because our insurance company requires it and I was the one who had to call back to see if there was any progress, which there wasn't any at all. My husband has gone and they lost his chart so he had to fill out all the paperwork a second time. I feel every time I go, there is a new problem. I tried to give the office a chance because they are very friendly there, but enough is enough.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Don't bother

Posted on March 18th, 2011

I was a patient of one of the PAs in his office for about a year. She finally left due to inefficiency. The staff was constantly losing my referrals for tests, misplacing important paperwork for my chart, screwing up my appointments, 3 different times they even lost my entire chart! When the PA left, I decided to give Dr. Alm a chance, and what a mistake! They, again, screwed up the appt. time so I had to go back, which messed up my entire day. I waited 45 mins. in the waiting room, and another 35 mins. in the exam room. It was obvious he did bother to look at my chart because he had no idea what medication I was on, I had a bad skin infection that he refused to exam, he said "I could clean it up myself when I got home," and in fact did not touch me once in way of examining me the entire time. He made suggestions of treatments I had already been on for months, or had tried in the past, and he had no idea. The only new suggestion he had was "I eat a lot of Jello." He changed my meds as "an experiment," only gave me 2 weeks supply, and then a week later had his assistant call to say he was no longer comfortable with me as a patient as I had too many acute medical problems. I would receive a letter or phone call to refer me to a different Dr., which of course did not happen, not even after I called 2 weeks later to try and follow up. I was just ignored, including when I requested my medical records so I could pass them on to another Dr. when I found one myself. I lived in this area for 25 years, and he is absolutely the worse doctor I have ever seen in all my years. My husband was a witness to all of this, and was also a patient of the original PA. When he decided to not go back, and he went in to get copies of his records he was ordered off the property, them stating his records were belonged to them and were not required to hand them over.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on November 30th, 2009

excellent family doctor

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 19th, 2017

Three Stars

Posted on June 14th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on February 21st, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on July 20th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on June 13th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Vance Alm is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Reno, NV.