ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Vatsal Thakkar Is this you?
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
5.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Vatsal Thakkar?


15 Ratings with 12 Comments

1.0 Rating

April 6th, 2017

Don't know where to start

Saw him for 5 years. Ended up in a hospital for 3 weeks trying to get off all of the meds he put me on, I went from 4 to 10 under his care. He became impossible to reach with all of his technology, call backs took multiple attempts.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 6th, 2017

Don't know where to start

Saw him for 5 years. Ended up in a hospital for 3 weeks trying to get off all of the meds he put me on, I went from 4 to 10 under his care. He became impossible to reach with all of his technology, call backs took multiple attempts.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

October 4th, 2015

Dr. Thakkar was the best psychiatrist for me. Under his care and recommendation to try Celexa, my outlook on life became positive relative to my interest to do things, and I became more positive in my. relationships with family and friends. My gloomy days became sunny. I will forever be grateful to Dr Thakkar for changing my life. I now will urge many people who are depressed to see Dr. Thakkar so that they may change their life foe the better.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 22nd, 2015

Caring Doctor

Dr. Thakkar was really good listener, very considerate . He new what was needed. He really wanted to help. I will (have already) recommend him to anyone with similar problems. Things are going good so far, thanks to Dr. Thakkar, If you are thinking about seeing him (do it) I don't think you will be disappointed.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 26th, 2013

I didn't feel comfortable with him. He didn't listen. He worked entirely off pre-fab bubble questionnaires and payed more attention to those than what I was saying. He was arrogant and condescending. His treatment was never effective and I stuck with it for over a year.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2013

so far so good

His style and approach - He was calm but friendly and seemed interested in my welfare, and he was also helpful. Can't believe the negative reviews here are accurate, but I can only review from my own experience. Accessibility is good - I called about 6 doctors at Columbia Presbyterian and NYU who did not even bother to return my calls, which really annoyed me! Thakkar has an assistant who got back to me very promptly. I scheduled without a problem. Price - Psychiatrists in general are too expensive, but I can't judge him negatively because of his fees because he is at the low end of what is typical in this area. I have not found a psychiatrist yet in NYC or vicinity who is cheap or even reasonably priced - they all charge about the same thing, and he is a bit less.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 28th, 2013

Professional and thorough

I've seen many psychiatrists and Dr. T rates in the top 5% for professionalism, skill, and thoroughness

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 8th, 2012

Dr. Vatsal Thakkar wasted 4 years of my life. I followed his instructions to the letter and feel exactly the same after 6,000 dollars/4 years. When I final gave up on him, he was arrogant and smug and didn't think to apologize for his proffessional impotence. To add insult to injury he has this audited email reminder in place and is powerless to stop it from sending me repeated email reminders, I've gotten 3 this week.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 28th, 2012

high quality visit

probably the most thorough appointment i've had.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2012

He is very rude . No feedback with the patient. Seems like he just care about money .

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 22nd, 2011

IF THERE WAS A 0 STARS OPTION, I WOULD GIVE IT.

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. OVERPRICED. THE FIRST VISIT IS ACTUALLY PATIENT CARE, THE REST IS ALL ABOUT GETTING YOU TO KEEP GIVING HIM MONEY.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 19th, 2011

Very thorough Visit

very thorough Interview, smart and relatable

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Vatsal Thakkar is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • David Inwood

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Brooklyn, NY

    3.4
    (28)
    Accepts online appointments
  • Dr. Jamey Levy

    Psychiatry

    New York, NY 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    10
  • Dr. Alexander Storch

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Residency

    New York, NY 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)