The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Vidhya Viswanathan Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Vidhya Viswanathan?

Asthma

Asthma

More than 22 million Americans of all ages have asthma. Prepare to talk to your doctor about symptoms, diagnosis and treatment options.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Vidhya Viswanathan?

Ratings and Reviews

19 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
14 min

Showing 19 Ratings with 9 Comments

1.0 Rating

August 24th, 2015

wonderful rapport with my 13 y.o. diabetic son

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 30th, 2014

Very personable and easy to talk to. She put my daughter at ease.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 30th, 2013

Awesome doctor!

After being switched to Dr. V. when Dr. Ziai changed his practice, my son and I were nervous about going to a new doctor but one visit was all that it took for us to fall in love with her! She has an easy, fun, youthful way about her and she taught us so much about the correct treatments for his diabetes. Carb counting and how to figure out insulin dosages...things we never learned under Dr. Ziai. She jokes when she can but is serious when it is necessary. I am so grateful that we were moved to her and have gotten to know her and all the other wonderful women who work with her.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 18th, 2012

Not satisfied with Dr. Viswanathan. She is uncaring and attempts to scare children with fear of what could happen. She treated my child like a noncompliant diabetic. Dr. Ziai never acted like this, why is she taking over for him?

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 16th, 2011

Dr. V is the best!
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

December 1st, 2011

What a good doctor SHOULD be!

So i recently met with Dr. Viswanathan and can't believe how wonderful and knowledgeable she is. I was having her see my 5 year old for what I thought was early development. I am a physician as well but she did not know this. I do not tell my doctors this so I can see how they are with their patients. I would say that her bedside manner and knowledge are wonderful. She explained everything to me clearly and was really nice to my child... who is very apprehensive of doctors. All in all, I would recommend Dr. V to anyone who needs a good kind pediatric endocrinologist.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 1st, 2011

My daughter was recently diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes and Dr. Viswanathan was her Dr. at diagnosis. Dr. V. was very compassionate and caring in taking care of my daughter and our family.She took the time to listen to all of our fears, anxiety and just our overwhelming feelings about the diabetes and future health of our daughter. She comforted us and educated us about diabetes and made sure that we were capable and comfortable about taking care of our daughter before letting us leave the hospital. She made sure that we were able to reach her once we left the hospital. We saw Dr. V. at our first follow up appt and she was again absolutely amazing. We are so happy with her care and are so relieved that we have a great Dr. to care for our daughter.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 1st, 2011

My chid has had diabetes for 4 years and has been treated by another diabetes doctor all this time so my son and I were both worried about getting to know a new doctor and I just had to write and tell people how wonderful Dr V is.. For the first time in 4 years of diabetes we actually learned about what ketones are and when to check for them and what is a good a1c for my son .. Dr v spent so much time with us .. She was so patient as we asked questions and I never felt rushed, like I usually did!! I feel like he was rediagnosed with diabetes because we were educated on things I never knew about! I am so thankful that we have such a caring and compassionate new doctor !! And so is my son.. She is a 10 in our book!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 25th, 2011

This was my child's first visit with Dr. Viswanathan. She needs to improve her bedside manner. She didn't provide help or encouragement but used fear tactics and ridicule. She saw that my child was tearing up and remained uncaring. To me this is the most important part of her job and we left feeling worse than when we came in. It took my child a long time to calm down even after we got home. We will not be going back.

Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 18th, 2017

2.0 Rating

January 10th, 2017

1.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Vidhya Viswanathan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Oak Lawn, IL.

  • Dr. Ira Shetty

    Pediatrics, Pediatric Cardiology

    Oak Lawn, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    12
  • Dr. Earl Ow

    Dr. Earl Ow

    Pediatric Cardiology, Pediatrics

    Oak Lawn, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    44
  • Dr. Suguna Babu

    Pediatrics

    Oak Lawn, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    39