Dr. Vikas Varma MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurology Manhasset, NY

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 107 patient ratings
  • 26 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (+ 0.6)

26 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    37%
  • Satisfied
    15%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    36%
  • Wait Time 28.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Varma is an excelled doctor who has been with me fo over 14 years. I could never imagine seeing anyone else, he is a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 10th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Varma is a caring and gentle doctor. He has a wonderful bedside manner and is very easy to talk to. He has helped tremendously with his innovative and effective treatments. Thank you Dr. Varma
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 31st, 2016
Highly recommended
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr varma is a very good spine doctor he's on point knows what he's doing was sent to him by another dr I'm very satisfied having him as my dr he listens to me and advice me on getting better. I would highly recommend varma very nice and friendly doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 7th, 2016
BEWARE: Vikas Varma is a pill pusher
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I came from another dr after moving to queens . I brought all my medical records and scripts. He was eating breakfast during my first appointment, and after seeing I was diagnosed and seeking to continue treatment , he exclaimed "we have a customer !!" To which his staff brought in new scripts. I didn't want OxyContin , as it is addictive and can make other problems with side effects. However I'm allergic to NSAIDs so he insisted I fill the script with also Lyrica I did try to fill lyrica, but not OxyContin. The office staff WOULD NOT do the prior authorization so I paid cash ($350!) even tho I called and called for them to do it FIVE times over a month During my follow up he demanded to know why I didn't fill the OxyContin. I reiterated I didn't want a narcotic and also told him he never authorized lyrica RX. He didn't like that I didn't "follow his order" to take oxy, which a doctor should commend considering I have 3 herniated discs from C6-L7 , pinched nerves and severe nerve damage , he promptly discharged me officially from his care. He didn't even physically examine me! He just looked at my chart, scripts, and MOST importantly to Varma is your DEA profile That was all he did: checked what I was prescribed and ordered tests because I'm on Medicaid He abuses insurance and his drug pushing is negligent .All he cares about is getting kickbacks If your looking for opiates he's your man. If you want real medical help with a competent neurologist STAY FAR AWAY from Vikas Varma
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 28th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The most heartless and careless about you, so disrespectful zero humble and racist. Those where the worst appointments I been have since I was diagnosed with discal herniation. Never back again and you never make an appointment with this people. Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 28th, 2015
rude nasty .bed side manner
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
zero bedside manner .pushed supplements and vitamins as part of getting your medicine. he was always late rude many times .he drives 250 000 b.m.w so he must be doing well. as person he isnt nice at all. i left him and went to another dr. he also talks to adults like they 3 years old . all and all one star .he also pushes back injections that rarely help .but that's up to the patient how effective they are .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 21st, 2015
Very knowledgeble
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Varma appointment waiting is long so be ready to wait but once seen he goes straight to what the problem is scheduled you for procedures according to what is needed doesn't sugar coat things and gets straight to the point. Dr. Varma may seem very arrogant but in terms he gets down to business and tries to fix the cause not just the problem
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 14th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Verma was RUDE! made us wait for 2 hours for the procedure then lied that he was waiting for the rep who was siting with us waiting. His office call me time in the hour to have me tell them the same thing. He tried to push his vitamins on me , When I tried to tell him what was happening ,,, he denied every thing yelled at the rep tell the rep that they were unprofessional. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS DR. he does not follow protocol for the procedure, waited my time and my energy use to do this procedure. we now have to endure this painful procedure again...... DON'T WAIST YOUR TIME AND HEALTH.....WE ALL DESERVE SO MUCH BETTER THAT DR VERMA!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 13th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Appalling! behavior and treatment by this so called professional; relearn ethical practice 'Doctor' Vikas Varma!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 19th, 2014
stay away from the trash
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
most pompous, most arrogant and very unprofessional behavior.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 28th, 2014
Elderly patient
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is one horrible doctors. My mom needs minimal cataract surgery, he has made her take every test under the sun, it has taken six months. His appts can take up to two months to schedule. He won't approve her surgery and didn't give a reason or how to correct it. Instead his office scheduled another point anothe month out. We must look like we have stupid written on our forhead. We searched and found a new neurologist, at least for a second opinion. Now this jerk, won't release my mom's medical records. What a powertrip this moron is on, as if he's the only neurgologist in the phone book. Don't go to him please, he doesn't care about his patients. He's just looking to make a buck and a quick one. Won't retunr calls or speak with concerned family members i give him 0 stars
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 17th, 2013
Terrible experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have gone to my fair share of specialists and Dr. Varma is by far the worst doctor visit I have had to date. I felt like I was being scolded and ridiculed without explanation and when I tried to ask a question about getting to and from the procedure because I do not have a car, he scolded me for not taking things seriously. I left confused and upset.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Vikas Varma, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Manhasset, NY.