Dr. Virginia Lolley MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Birmingham, AL

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 18 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

3.4 (-0.2)

18 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    39%
  • Great
    11%
  • Good
    28%
  • Poor
    11%
  • Bad
    11%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 11.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
March 10th, 2017
Dr. Lolley stated I needed cataract surgery and didn't explain the procedure nor options. Stated to arrange surgery in 2-3 weeks. Would cost $2,500 per eye not covered by insurance. That was the discussion limit during the visit.. Later, after talking with friends about the procedure, I had a few questions before scheduling surgery. Called 3 times and left messages for Dr. Lolley to please return call. Never heard from her. Office is poorly managed.. Left 2 messages and those were not returned either. Finally, I called the Patient Representative and she got someone on the phone. I left another message for Dr. Lolley to call. Since I never heard back from her, I did not schedule the surgery.. Switched to new ophthalmologist. Very pleased that I made the change. Physician explained everything before I left his office and suggested I wait another year for surgery. His office was well managed. Can ALWAYS reach a person by phone with prompt results. Called 3 times with questions before scheduling surgery. Dr. Lolley
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 31st, 2016
Office visit
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Lolley is extremely knowledgeable and very helpful in me understand and make decisions about my eye surgery. Her staff are very friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 18th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Only offered $6000 multifocal lenses for cataract surgery. Did not discuss options available. Either made her own choices for corrective lenses or had me confused with another patient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 6th, 2016
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The reason I didn't give Dr. Lolley a higher rating is because of one of her employees. UAB doesn't seem to care how poorly doctors and employees treat their patients. I hope anyone who has Blue Cross Blue Shield will contact them and let them know if you feel you have been mistreated by UAB, as your comments help determine UAB's insurance tier (according to BCBS). UAB has recently been downgraded to a Tier 2 facility, which was well deserved.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 27th, 2015
Staff Problems
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have no big problem with Dr. Virginia Lolley; however, in my opinion UAB (including their Callahan Eye Hospital Clinic) has a huge problem with nurses, receptionists, or whoever answers the phone when I call concerning prescriptions or something else I may need after my visit. I always get a return call with a message left answering a different question than what I asked or some other mix-up. Even with the high quality of MOST of UAB's physicians, I am finally being forced to find all new doctors elsewhere because of the aggravation caused by me not having time to call back 10 times each time I need something because it is rarely ever handled properly even after several phone calls. During my latest visit to Dr. Lolley, she wrote me a prescription for new eyeglasses. I later decided I would rather have bifocals so I wouldn't also have to carry around a set of reading glasses with me all the time. At the appointment, the doctor said she could write the prescription either way. After multiple phone calls to the clinic and several days of waiting, in today's mail was a (barely legible) copy of my original prescription I already have. So, once again, much time wasted after receiving exactly the OPPOSITE of what I asked for!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 20th, 2011
Bart Bakker
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Lolley is the best!

5.0 of 5
July 19th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 14th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 21st, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 9th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Virginia Lolley, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Birmingham, AL.