The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Virginia Lolley Is this you?
  • 8
  • 2
  • 5
  • 2
  • 2

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
11.7 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Virginia Lolley?


19 Ratings with 7 Comments

2.0 Rating

March 10th, 2017

Dr. Lolley stated I needed cataract surgery and didn't explain the procedure nor options. Stated to arrange surgery in 2-3 weeks. Would cost $2,500 per eye not covered by insurance. That was the discussion limit during the visit.. Later, after talking with friends about the procedure, I had a few questions before scheduling surgery. Called 3 times and left messages for Dr. Lolley to please return call. Never heard from her. Office is poorly managed.. Left 2 messages and those were not returned either. Finally, I called the Patient Representative and she got someone on the phone. I left another message for Dr. Lolley to call. Since I never heard back from her, I did not schedule the surgery.. Switched to new ophthalmologist. Very pleased that I made the change. Physician explained everything before I left his office and suggested I wait another year for surgery. His office was well managed. Can ALWAYS reach a person by phone with prompt results. Called 3 times with questions before scheduling surgery. Dr. Lolley
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.0 Rating

August 31st, 2016

Office visit

Dr. Lolley is extremely knowledgeable and very helpful in me understand and make decisions about my eye surgery. Her staff are very friendly.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

April 18th, 2016

Only offered $6000 multifocal lenses for cataract surgery. Did not discuss options available. Either made her own choices for corrective lenses or had me confused with another patient.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 6th, 2016

The reason I didn't give Dr. Lolley a higher rating is because of one of her employees. UAB doesn't seem to care how poorly doctors and employees treat their patients. I hope anyone who has Blue Cross Blue Shield will contact them and let them know if you feel you have been mistreated by UAB, as your comments help determine UAB's insurance tier (according to BCBS). UAB has recently been downgraded to a Tier 2 facility, which was well deserved.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

August 27th, 2015

Staff Problems

I have no big problem with Dr. Virginia Lolley; however, in my opinion UAB (including their Callahan Eye Hospital Clinic) has a huge problem with nurses, receptionists, or whoever answers the phone when I call concerning prescriptions or something else I may need after my visit. I always get a return call with a message left answering a different question than what I asked or some other mix-up. Even with the high quality of MOST of UAB's physicians, I am finally being forced to find all new doctors elsewhere because of the aggravation caused by me not having time to call back 10 times each time I need something because it is rarely ever handled properly even after several phone calls. During my latest visit to Dr. Lolley, she wrote me a prescription for new eyeglasses. I later decided I would rather have bifocals so I wouldn't also have to carry around a set of reading glasses with me all the time. At the appointment, the doctor said she could write the prescription either way. After multiple phone calls to the clinic and several days of waiting, in today's mail was a (barely legible) copy of my original prescription I already have. So, once again, much time wasted after receiving exactly the OPPOSITE of what I asked for!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 17th, 2015

Outstanding!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 20th, 2011

Bart Bakker

Dr. Lolley is the best!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 8th, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 19th, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2017

2.0 Rating

February 14th, 2017

3.0 Rating

May 21st, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Virginia Lolley is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Birmingham, AL.

  • Dr. Harold Skalka

    Dr. Harold Skalka

    Ophthalmology

    Birmingham, AL 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    47
  • Dr. Lina Nagia

    Ophthalmology

    Birmingham, AL 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    10
  • Dr. Brian Samuels

    Ophthalmology

    Birmingham, AL 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    13