The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Walter Ellis Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Walter Ellis?

Fibromyalgia

Fibromyalgia

Get the facts about fibromyalgia, including the symptoms and conditions that may be related to it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Walter Ellis?

Ratings and Reviews

39 Ratings with 15 Comments

  • Excellent
    22
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    22
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
26.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 39 Ratings with 15 Comments

2.0 Rating

August 11th, 2016

IDK I hardly ever saw the man, Dr Ellis , but prob twice on 4 years. Never made eye contact. Never tried to help my pain soirce, only gave me Rxs. Office & people in the back were so RUDE AND UNFRIENDLY. I only got my records when he was arrested.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 8th, 2015

Patient

He went to the end to make sure I found out what was wrong with me. He treats you like you are a person not a $$$$ l. Even if he has to send you to other specialist to get to the bottom of this...... There aren't many doctors out there like him. I've been a pt. of his for 9yrs. 5 of my family members and 6 of my friends go to see him!!! He doesn't just try to put you in meds, and run you out! He tried to find a solution to your problem

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 25th, 2015

Lies to protect himself

I used to be a patient and of the 2 + years that I was seen in his office, I think I saw Dr. Ellis maybe twice. Other times I saw Terry, the P.A. Dr. Ellis discharged me because I work in the medical field and someone in authority asked for some of my medical records which he denied saying he did not write a prescription on that date. He probably did not write on the date I filled it because we could not fill until it was due. Anyway, I called Lynn, his nurse at the time and she personally told me that "Dr. Ellis did not want to be investigated." At that time, I told her "I have nothing to hide, what is he hiding?" That was the end of conversation.... and i was with out a Dr. and medication due to his negligence and insincerity.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 9th, 2014

Dr. Walter Ellis

Dr. Walter Ellis was a very good pain management. He was and is the only one that was able to keep me out ofpain. I wish he was able to be my Doctor again. Now I am having problems finding a good doctor to help keep me out of pain. Between Dr Walter Ellis and Terry Braud-PA I thank them for all their help. Just wish I could have both back.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 11th, 2014

Truth from a patient

Dr Ellis is one of the most caring sincere dr's you will ever meet. Don't let hear say and innuendo cloud this fine mans reputation. I would trust this Dr. and would recommend him to any person in pain who has gotten the run around from others in the med. profession. A patient for the past five years, this Dr. Has tried one treatment, then another, then another until the one that helps the patient the most. He will not quit on you. He will do what is your best interest period. For those who know this Dr. , knows he a true gentleman as well as tremendous caring Dr..

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

June 9th, 2014

I saw dr Ellis for 8 years. He was the absolute best doctor I've ever been to. He completely changed my life!! I had given up because of dealing with severe injuries and pain and didn't know what to do. I excepted the fact that I had no future. Just suffering . I finally saw dr Ellis and he helped me get my life back! He cared more than any doctor I've ever seen . He would call me on the weekends sometimes just to ask how I was doing. If I called and needed to talk to him he would personally call me back, not a nurse. For the past 8 years I got my life back and was doing better than ever! I pray that he comes out this situation free and clear. Cause I know he has also changed hundreds of other people's lives. Going from being in a bed all the time , nothing to look forward to , to having a normal life. Working again , buying a house, and so much more I have right now because of him!! Dr Ellis thank you!! I wish you the best and if there's anything I can ever do for you let me know. Unfortunately other doctors around Baton Rouge aren't as caring as he was and my quality of life has drastically went down.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 2nd, 2014

Back pain

He checked X-ray , explained what he saw on the X-ray he gave me alter net ways to over come my pain . Yoga , walking . Not just pushing medicen pills . Thank you so much Dr W . Ellis!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 13th, 2013

Great dr, very rude staff

Dr Ellis is kind, compassionate, simply amazing as well as his PA Terry. Procedures are as painless as possible and Dr Ellis talks to you the entire time which really helps to keep you calm and your mind off what is happening. Getting an appointment can take a few weeks and once your are in the office you may not be seen anywhere near your scheduled time. The office staff is absolutely the most rude, unprofessional, lazy and hateful bunch of females of any business I have ever encountered. They raise their voices, cut you off mid sentence, hang up on you, do not return phone calls for days, tell you there is no earlier appointment then when you speak to someone else you get in days earlier, and this is a short list. Angie is the worst. I do not know how she keeps her job. I as well as others have complained about how downright hateful she is yet they do nothing.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 6th, 2013

Dr Ellis & his Staff are amazing

I've been a patient for about 3 or 4 years. The overall experience at an appointment is EXCELLENT. Terry (his Physicians Assistant) is the most friendly, attentive, understanding, & empathetic person have ever encountered in the medical field. He really listens & is always helpful with the best bed side manor. I don't know where Dr Ellis found him, but he made a wonderful decision to bring him aboard! I feel the same way about Dr Ellis. He is a non-intimanding Dr that I feel very comfortable talking about anything to. I recently had a rhizotamy & even though the procedure itself was painful, it helps a lot. Now that I've found the right med combo, I am able to deal with the pain instead of feeling like a prisoner to it. Would most definatley recommend him to others & if he ever moved away from Baton Rouge I would do everything I could to follow him!! A plus plus plus is the grade I would give him & his staff

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

March 18th, 2013

Good dr, horrible staff, caters to junkies

Dr. Ellis is a good doctor but all the other issues over shadow this fact. His entire office staff is rude and uses street slang-very unprofessional, and cannot schedule appointments. You are never seen anywhere close to your appointment time due to the staff not scheduling procedures correctly. The mere sight of the vast majority of patients in this office is frightening. Zombie pill poppers everywhere, some of the most notorious junkies I have knowledge of frequent this office. They also charge your insurance huge amounts for office visits. One visit which resulted in nothing more than a discussion with Dr Ellis was billed to my insurance for over $800!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 5th, 2011

Very kind and compassionate. Thumbs up for sports medicine approach, and core strengthening for back problems. As a martial arts practioner, I appreciate his treatment program.Awesome Doctor. Highly recommend.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 7th, 2010

Finally found the best caring doctor in the world !

Dr. Walter Ellis is beyond a regular doctor, I have been in his office crying and he is so comforting. I can talk to him about anything and he understands! I have been through alot in my life breast cancer several surgeries and a horrible back problem ( Slip and fall) he is just amazing !

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Walter Ellis is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Metairie, LA.

  • Dr. Scott Branting

    Pain Management, Anesthesiology

    Metairie, LA 0.28 mi

    4.4
    (7)
    17
  • Dr. Jayachandra Induru

    Anesthesiology, Pain Management

    Metairie, LA 0.28 mi

    1.9
    (5)
    33
  • Dr. Akkara Paul

    Pain Management, Anesthesiology

    Metairie, LA 0.28 mi

    1.7
    (2)
    25