Overall Rating

4.0
  • 91 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

4.2 (+ 0.2)

91 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    58%
  • Great
    19%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    12%
  • Wait Time 20.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 5th, 2016
And I already thought Unjustified involuntary commitment was bad enough.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Lies, procrastination, and assumpitons. If a mother told the school she had a bad child, just cause the child got into the candy once as a baby. Would the school discriminate the child? No. So dont discriminate a patient at a hospital just cause he is at the location. Maybe if you actually listened and got the facts straight there wouldn't be liability on this facility now. Family members have been harrassed, lied to, and much more. Step down from your throne. Should you contenue such archaic care, you have no humanity. You KNOW the situation, assess it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Elliston is amazing, when you can get an appointment with him. The office staff is beyond rude, they act like it is an inconvenience to answer a question or to try and schedule an appointment. You can forget having a phone called returned if you leave a message and if someone does answer the phone be prepared to be put on hold.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 6th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been a patient for over a year and I am very happy with them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 6th, 2015
Doctor ok Staff Awful
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Elliston is a very nice Doctor if you ever get to see him. Most of your apt are scheduled with a NP. The front office staff is AWFUL. There is no way around it. I work for a doctor and the entire front office staff should be fired. They are rude let the phones ring are rude to people who call and have conversations with the other front office girls sitting around them while patients are checking in. This is not worth going to this doctor. There are many other doctors in Dallas. If you have private pay insurance you have the right to go to any doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2013
Should be censured, beware
Wait time
5 minutes
Online reviews--read at your own peril. However, I had the misfortune of being involuntarily hospitalized under Dr. Elliston at Dallas Green Oaks when I had my first manic episode at age 29. Much went wrong. Part of what is wrong with the mental health system is anyone with a diagnosis immediately loses credibility, and in a hospital like Green Oaks there are many, many systematic issues/self-defeating policies. So re: Dr. Elliston, I'll simply say that when my family was finally able to get me released from his clutches (lol, that is how all of my friends and family felt about it) the prescription he gave me for outpatient care (administered by my family exactly as prescribed) caused me to have to be rushed to the emergency room the very next day (as directed by the Green Oaks staff when my family described what was happening to me as a result of taking his prescription; there's some fancy medical name for it but basically I was unable to control the muscles in my body, lolling around on the floor in pain). This was consistent with my experience under his “care” in the hospital. And they wonder when a patient fights forced injections—when you wake up in hospital not being able to read, would you trust your doctor? (And the system wonders when subsequently a patient is “non-compliant” with medication/distrustful of psychiatrists!) I have always been and continue to be--after an ordeal of sorting out the mess that emanated from what many other psychiatrists have since described as "unconventional" medication usage--a highly successful and well-respected professional. This doctor caused significant damage in my life and should be censured. If it were possible to give him 0 stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 10th, 2012
Lucky if you even get to meet Dr. Elliston
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I spent almost an hour waiting, then spent nearly an hour answering questions on a form given to me by Debbie, a nurse. Dr. Elliston stepped in and introduced himself at the end of my appointment, spending less than 5 minutes with me. The diagnosis was bi-polar, which is simply incorrect. I was having serious difficulties in my life, and some days were much better than others. I just needed something for anxiety and mild depression, which I now get from my primary care doctor, and I am doing very well. Find another doctor, this place is a pill mill, and you are just a number.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 10th, 2010
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would recommend Dr. Elliston to any patient. He is knowledgable, informed, and professional. His bedside manner, however, is his strongpoint. He is extremely relaxed, calm and compassionate. He also makes good use of humor. The downside to his practice is the sheer SIZE of the practice. There are 10-15 professionals in this practice. There is encouragement to see as many patients as possible. This equals long waiting times, and somewhat of a hurried atmosphere. Dr. Elliston's manner and expertise overcome the negatives of the practice, however.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 6th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 15th, 2017

5.0 of 5
February 14th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 1st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 20th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Walter Elliston, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Dallas, TX.