The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Walter James Is this you?

Filter Reviews

10 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.4
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
  • 2

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
21 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Walter James?

Showing 10 of 10 Ratings

One Star

Posted on July 24th, 2017

Would not recommend for sleep problems.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Nice man, but in a hurry

Posted on March 9th, 2013

I saw Dr. James for a sleep problem. I was unaware there are doctors who practice sleep medicine verses doctors who practice another specialty, like pulmonary, and then do a little sleep stuff on the side. Dr. James practice pulmonary medicine, but also dabbles in sleep. He was recommended to me by an older friend of mine who has seen him for years. He was a nice physician, but I didn't feel like he listened to me. He seemed to be in a hurry to get onto his next patient, or maybe to lunch since I was there around that time. I was there to see him because I was tired during the day. He seemed to focus on the possibility of me having sleep apnea and spoke to me about snoring. I don't snore. I'm just tired during the day. I think something is wrong with my sleep and I'm not sure we were ever able to have a conversation about why I came to see him. I felt like he talked an awful lot and skipped over my questions. Again, nice enough man, but not the doctor for me.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Would not recommend for sleep medicine

Posted on February 12th, 2013

After waiting months to get in for visits, I feel that he rushes through my visit and is only interested in the data recorded on my CPAP. Little time is spent on discussing your conidtion. A computer could give me the data, I need interpretation. At my last visit, he did not have time to answer questions on my worsening symptoms and new diagnosis, gave advice on medication outside his specialty without consulting the prescribing physician, and was very discourteous to his staff in front of me. Also, forgot to give me prescription. He may be great at pulmonology, but sleeping is more than just how you breath. I was once lucky enough to see his PA and that is only time I really got answers to my questions about my conditions.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Don't go here for sleep apnea

Posted on June 28th, 2011

I went to see Dr. James for sleep apnea. A 20-minute consult was $450. He then recommended a sleep study. His office failed to inform me that the cost was $4500 - twice the national average. My test results were never given to me or explained, but a charge was filed with insurance for a visit I did not have. Without discussing treatment options with me, Dr. James signed me up for the most expensive treatment available - CPAP - a treatment which has less than a 50% success rate b/c patients cannot maintain the therapy. Just to pick up the $1500 machine (which you can buy online for 1/2 the price) they charged me $600 for my time with non-medical personel. Insurance covers all of this, but I was still on the hook for 20%.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

He's the best

Posted on March 14th, 2009

Dr. James is the finest Pulmunoligist that has ever treated me. He clearly is highly skilled in his field. He is thoughtful and caring. He takes the time required to listen to my problems and answers my questions clearly. My health is so much improved since I stsrted to see him seven years ago.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 22nd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on December 21st, 2015

Two Stars

Posted on October 4th, 2012

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on August 31st, 2012

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on December 21st, 2010

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Walter James is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Atlanta, GA.