Overall Review

4.2
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.8)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    67%
  • Satisfied
    12%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 20.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 25th, 2016
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. W. and Lisa have been excellent. I have been to many doctors but never received time and attention like this. He listens and spends time with me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 29th, 2012
I won't go back
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Walthall has been my primary for a number of years. But after my last visit I won't be going back. He has changed over the years becoming more arrogant and sometimes condescending. I don't know if there is something going on in his personal life or what but he shouldn't take it out on his patients. I have never in my life had a doctor yell at me and talk bad about another doctor. Dr. Walthall may have the medical knowledge but his personality has changed for the worse. It was nice while it lasted. It is very easy to get an appointment to see him. Now I know why all his patients are leaving him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 5th, 2011
An Exceptional Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm 64 and have lived and traveled many places through the years and seen many doctors over those years. Dr. Walthall ranks right up with the very best--caring, considerate, takes time to listen and provides excellent support and advice to any health concern you may have. I recommend him very highly to anyone who wants a very intelligent and pleasant person who cares and supports your good health.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 27th, 2011
He gets it.
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If I knew what the problem was or how to get it to heal naturally, I wouldn't be at the doctor. Dr. Walthall listens and he "gets it." He recommends down-to-earth and practical advice when possible and medicine when necessary. I appreciate not having a drug solution to every problem I complain about.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 2nd, 2010
Good, but not considerate
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Although he is a very good doctor, he has the impression that his time is more valuable and patients need to wait. Have been with him for several years and expect to be gone from work for at least 2 hours to see him. He is a good doctor but have often considered leaving.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 14th, 2010
very efficiant
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i am a 35 year old female and have started having a multitude of health issues mental and physical.dr,walthall has hit my depression and add right on the head and the first medications provided have done wonders.we are now moving to the physical aspects and he is really good about having several tests done at once for the single problem and seems eager to get to the bottom of the problem.seems genuinely concerned for my well being and listens to my symptoms.waiting on results but am confident he will get to the bottom of things.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 28th, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've always been satisfied with Dr. Walthall. I've never experienced a problem with his bedside manner or his diagnosis. I'm glad he's my doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 10th, 2010
Condescending know it all
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would NEVER go back to this guy. He is condescending and talks down to the patient. I guess he forgot he runs a BUSINESS like everyone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 19th, 2010
Honest
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seen by Dr. Walthall for a few years now and could not recommend him or his staff enough. I have multiple medical issues and he handles all of them for me. I appreciate his honesty and the fact that he doesn't candy coat anything. If somethings not working its because i haven't followed his directions or i didnt tell him everything. He takes his time with his patients and is always available when I call. I also appreciate that he still is involved with research and is up on current medical practices.I highly recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 12th, 2010
Thank You
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been looking for quite some time for a doctor who is honest, caring and kind. I would highly recommend Dr. Walthall and his assistant Lisa. If you didn't get refills, it is probably because he wanted to make sure you were doing well on the medicine. He follows up on situations and seems genuinely concerned. A++
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 18th, 2010
Horrible...
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went into see him when we first moved here to San Antonio. I had 3 different problems going on. He told me he could only deal with them one at a time, and that I needed to make more appointments for the rest of my problems. Horrible bedside manner; talked down to me, as well as barely did a physical. Stared at his laptop the whole time. Put me on a medication that worked for one of my problems(which worked), until he refused to authorize refills. I ended up in the er hallucinating from withdrawals from the antidepressant he put me on. Went back in to see him, where he doubled my dose. tried to get a refill, and he had put no refills. ha! Luckily the pharmacist gave me enough for 3 days. tried calling the past 2 days, and all I get is well he just has to authorize it and fax it back, which he has not done. Now they are saying he won't refill my script until I go in for a check up. Wow. I can't wait to get out of this town and find a caring doctor, not one who just wants your money.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 15th, 2009
Very good doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I always look for a doctor that takes the time to listen to me and answer my questions. If Dr. Walthall did not do that, I would not have been his patient for the last 5 years. I feel very comfortable that he has my best interests in mind at all times. I will agree that he is a bit shy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Walter Walthall, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Joshua Beck

7 years experience

1.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. David Sandercock

23 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Zeitlin

32 years experience

3.9 of 5