Dr. Stanford Downs MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurology Anchorage, AK

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 20 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

20 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    15%
  • Poor
    10%
  • Bad
    25%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 27.6 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
July 5th, 2016
Poor staffing leads to disastrous
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
There has clearly been a staff shake up in this office. Within 1 month both MAs and the receptionist were gone. Dr. Downs new MA Trish is the least helpful most disrespectful medical staffer I have ever met. Much needed prescriptions are overlooked and forgotten over long weekends and the expectation is that you will clean up her mess for her. She is highly judgmental and plain unprofessional. Dr. Downs himself typically runs late and is a bit to quick to resort to older medications even when told you have failed them in the past. The response times are mishandled by the inept staff that is kept. I will not return to this office and instead will pay to see a neuro specialist in Seattle. P
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 2nd, 2015
Very negative not good
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Made very negative statements incorrect diagnosis bad med order negative report Did more damage but want a lot of more very depressed manner rude don't recommend
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 9th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Doctor is Awesome. Have been seen by him for approx. 6 years he is great takes time with you works with you and answers all questions. I feel lucky to have him s my doctor. His staff is great also. They do their best to get you in asap.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 8th, 2014
MS patient
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Wayne Downs is a typical doctor these days who is only interested in slinging medications at patients instead of exploring any other options. Like most in the healthcare field these days, Wayne Downs isn't interested in helping patients get any better, instead the focus seems to be keeping people sick while religiously taking a bunch of meds throughout each day. Dr. Downs has also been convinced (probably by the pharmaceutical reps) that no complementary therapy will do anything for you because "there have not been clinical trials on them". Unfortunately, every one of the fda approved treatments prescribed by downs have failed miserably leaving me in a wheelchair. I feel like Dr. Downs lack of personal interest in the wellbeing of patients has led me into a very bad place that could have had a different outcome had my primary neurologist had a genuine interest in my wellbeing or any interest in keeping me from becoming extremely disabled in only a few years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 13th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Wayne is an AWESOME doctor who cares about his patients and what is going on in all aspects of our life. Office staff is great and they do their best to make the best appt times for you based on your schedule. A definite KUDOS to them for taking care of me with my seizures and my stimulator!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
June 4th, 2013
Wish he would explore more treatment options.
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Overall, I like Dr. Downs. He is a relatively personable guy and doesn't hurry you through your appt. as some providers do. He does tend to whine a bit about how busy he is etc. which may be offensive to some patients who may be having a harder time with their lives in general. I find him to be cautious with most things which I find to be a good quality in a provider. All to often providers are chomping at the bit to use you as a guinea pig for the newest meds, Dr Downs is not that provider. I also feel that he is honest in his suggestions when asked. Dr. Downs, like most providers these days, is not very timely and I usually wait for at least 30 (many times 45-1hr.) minutes after my appt. time. This seems to be par for the course in todays medical industry which is unfortunate. There is also no follow up and I routinely need to call the office for test results etc. (also seems to be the norm these days). Overall, I would recommend Dr Downs for anyone needing neurological care in Anchorage.

5.0 of 5
June 29th, 2012
Best Brain Doc
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Dr. Downs is a godsend. After two other doctors failed to be able to get my seizures under control he was able to. He is very friendly and will offer suggestions. Would recommend him time and time again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 30th, 2011
Had to fire him
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Misdiagnosis and very unprofessional manner. Whining to patients and conducting appointments with his head on the desk? Was a very expensive and painful debacle, would not send anyone to him ever.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 28th, 2011
Caring Professional
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Wayne Downs has done an excellent job diagnosing and treating my neurological issues. He always has time to talk and answer questions!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 19th, 2011
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Downs is a very attentive doctor. He really involves me in my care as opposed to just doing what he wants without my understanding the situation. He has neurologic issues of his own which might lead others to think that he is rude but in truth he is a very kind and concerned man.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2011
Down With Downs
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor will make a diagnoses without referring to medical records or performing a single test. He treats his patients like he's better than them and he has absolutely no bedside manner. If your asked to have tests performed by your place of employment your diagnosis will surly be based on whose paying. During this appointment he asked for the medical records, then he was asked "can't you access them electronically" he very rudely replied "no". After a few minutes of conversation he rendered a diagnosis without referring to any medical records or performing a single neurological test. In my opinion this doctor has no interest in the patient only the paycheck.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 22nd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Stanford Downs, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Anchorage, AK.