Dr. William Handy MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Abingdon, VA

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-1.1)

29 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    66%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    14%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    14%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 42.7 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 26th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very good doctor. Very kind and caring. Very high staff turnover. No one ever seems to know what is going on. Nurse practitioner nice, but not very knowledgeable at all. Extremely rude office manager, Debbie. Horrible to patients, but seems to be fooling Dr. Handy as to the kind of person she really is. As good a doctor as he is, I'm considering leaving due to Debbie´s attitude. She a real Wolf in sheep's Clothing. Would not recommend this office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 11th, 2016
Okay doctor if you don't mind a few annoyances
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Handy and the nurse practitioner, Mrs. Widener, are professional, I have no complaints about them. However, the same cannot be said for their staff. A nurse was very sarcastic and confrontational with me over the phone, and even hung up on me. Note that this nurse initiated the phone call and started out the conversation in a confrontational tone. Furthermore, the office staff turn over is so frequent, that it seems like no one ever knows what is going on. They even tried to charge my mother for services they have never given her. They sent her a bill for B12 shots, but they have never given her a B12 shot in the office. They did give her a B12 prescription, but her pharmacy provided it, and she gives herself the shots. She's still trying to dispute the charge. I don't think they're trying to cheat my mom. Instead, I suspect the problem is due to their high staff turnover--no one knows what's going on. If you only care about a good doctor, then Dr. Handy fits the bill. However, if you also desire a competent office staff, and nurses that treat you with respect, then Dr. Handy is not the doctor for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 12th, 2012
Dr Handy
Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Handy was able to diagnose me even after doctors in Dallas, NYC and UCONN were unable to do so. I have dealt with many doctors over the years and his level of determination and expertise is unmatched. Outstanding doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 28th, 2012
Audrey Thompson
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Even though the wait is a little longer than other doctors (and not by much!) it is worth every minute to have him as a doctor. I believe he is truely concerned for all his patients. If not he needs to go to Hollywood, because he is a fabulous actor...NOT! Love my Dr. Handy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 17th, 2012
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is a great doctor! Spends quality time with his patients. Great Bedside manner.He's worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2012
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Does not care for anyone over 65.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 4th, 2012
Great Doctor
Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I know that the time you wait is longer but to have a doctor who you feel really listens and just don't throw pills at you is worth a little more time. Awesome Doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 26th, 2011
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr handy is a wonderful dr he is so caring he had the best bedside manner of any dr around

5.0 of 5
March 4th, 2011
top notch doctor
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
a wonderful doctor full of caring and compassion for his patients. would highly recommend to anyone seeking a new physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 29th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 12th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. William Handy, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Abingdon, VA.