The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. William Handy Is this you?
  • 19
  • 1
  • 4
  • 1
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
42.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. William Handy?


29 Ratings with 9 Comments

1.0 Rating

September 26th, 2016

Very good doctor. Very kind and caring. Very high staff turnover. No one ever seems to know what is going on. Nurse practitioner nice, but not very knowledgeable at all. Extremely rude office manager, Debbie. Horrible to patients, but seems to be fooling Dr. Handy as to the kind of person she really is. As good a doctor as he is, I'm considering leaving due to Debbie´s attitude. She a real Wolf in sheep's Clothing. Would not recommend this office.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 11th, 2016

Okay doctor if you don't mind a few annoyances

Dr. Handy and the nurse practitioner, Mrs. Widener, are professional, I have no complaints about them. However, the same cannot be said for their staff. A nurse was very sarcastic and confrontational with me over the phone, and even hung up on me. Note that this nurse initiated the phone call and started out the conversation in a confrontational tone. Furthermore, the office staff turn over is so frequent, that it seems like no one ever knows what is going on. They even tried to charge my mother for services they have never given her. They sent her a bill for B12 shots, but they have never given her a B12 shot in the office. They did give her a B12 prescription, but her pharmacy provided it, and she gives herself the shots. She's still trying to dispute the charge. I don't think they're trying to cheat my mom. Instead, I suspect the problem is due to their high staff turnover--no one knows what's going on. If you only care about a good doctor, then Dr. Handy fits the bill. However, if you also desire a competent office staff, and nurses that treat you with respect, then Dr. Handy is not the doctor for you.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 12th, 2012

Dr Handy

Dr. Handy was able to diagnose me even after doctors in Dallas, NYC and UCONN were unable to do so. I have dealt with many doctors over the years and his level of determination and expertise is unmatched. Outstanding doctor.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 28th, 2012

Audrey Thompson

Even though the wait is a little longer than other doctors (and not by much!) it is worth every minute to have him as a doctor. I believe he is truely concerned for all his patients. If not he needs to go to Hollywood, because he is a fabulous actor...NOT! Love my Dr. Handy.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 17th, 2012

He is a great doctor! Spends quality time with his patients. Great Bedside manner.He's worth the wait.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 22nd, 2012

Does not care for anyone over 65.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 4th, 2012

Great Doctor

I know that the time you wait is longer but to have a doctor who you feel really listens and just don't throw pills at you is worth a little more time. Awesome Doctor.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 26th, 2011

Dr handy is a wonderful dr he is so caring he had the best bedside manner of any dr around

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 4th, 2011

top notch doctor

a wonderful doctor full of caring and compassion for his patients. would highly recommend to anyone seeking a new physician.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 29th, 2016

5.0 Rating

November 17th, 2016

1.0 Rating

November 12th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. William Handy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Abingdon, VA.

  • Dr. Mary Dawson

    Dr. Mary Dawson

    Family Medicine

    Abingdon, VA 0.13 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    7
  • Dr. James Gardner

    Dr. James Gardner

    Family Medicine

    Abingdon, VA 0.13 mi

    4.8
    (6)
    25
  • Dr. Laramie Triplett

    Dr. Laramie Triplett

    Family Medicine

    Abingdon, VA 0.13 mi

    4.3
    (10)
    32