Dr. William Kestenberg MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.9
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

4.4 (+ 0.5)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    70%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    22%
  • Wait Time 14.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

2.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2015
Not a Blessing!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kestenberg was NOT a BLESSING. He Did not recommend the best option initially which should have been a Mastectomy for the right breast to remove a 2.8 centimeter lump instead he performed a lumpectomy of which he failed to conduct a preliminary pathology specimen to analyze during the surgery to determine if the margins were clear. BIG MISTAKE. So of course he did not go far enough; the margins were not clear and remaining bad cells needed to be removed. He gave options to have a second lumpectomy surgery and even a third if the margins aren't clear or op for a mastectomy for the right breast. Should have chose another doctor after he neglected to conduct a preliminary pathology analysis. After the mastectomy, skin was left hanging from the front as well as the sides. As Christians, we try to share the message of God's love for us through his son. Doctors should always remain professional in spite of a patients' race; (black) , religion (Christian), good medical insurance carriers (Medicare & BCBS), or otherwise. Only the Lord knows the heart. Grateful to God, none the less. Lessons Learned!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2015
Amazing caring physician
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Kestenberg by my obgyn for a surgical consultation for a biopsy that was recommended after my recent mammogram. No one wants to be put in this scenario but I am so appreciative of Dr. Kestenberg and the excellent care I have received by him. He spent a great deal of time explaining what was found on my mammogram, how the surgical biopsy would be conducted, and next steps. He was caring and spent time addressing any concerns I had. I immediately felt comfortable with him. During my surgical biopsy, he and his team were excellent in their overall prep and care of me before, during and after the surgery. He personally called me as soon as my results were available to explain the results. It is obvious to me why he was recommended by my obgyn and I would highly recommend to anyone needing a breast surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 7th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Kestenberg by my ob gyn. I had two appts with Dr. Kestenberg an neither appt did he act as if he was interested in what I had to say. I felt rush, no eye contact, just didn't feel welcome. Very poor bedside manner. I wouldn't refer anyone to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 19th, 2014
Bad Medicine or Bad Luck? Either way, avoid him
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Diagnosed with Cancer and referred to Dr Kestenberg. He seemed competent, has a big office, and hangs his popularity contest awards on the wall. In practice, he lets you make the decisions and live with his results. His results, however, are terrible. He operated three times, missing margins, leaving scars, causing pain over and over again. No satisfactory explanation, and ultimately took no responsibility. Whether bad medicine or bad lack, he had terrible results, over and over, and took no responsibility for it, ultimately referring, and causing it seems, additional treatment like radiation and drugs to wash his hands of the matter. No acknowledgement, I assume to cover himself. At the end of the day, if you're facing serious problems, like Cancer, you don't need his results or attitude, whether he is a bad doc, or just an unlucky one. Avoid him. Look for every edge you can get, like another doc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 11th, 2013
Excellent surgeon
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent surgeon. Good bedside manner. Would refer him to anyone in my family or friends. Never appears rushed. Answers all questions well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 4th, 2013
If you need breast surgery, he is the doctor to see.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He even did my OB/GYN's wife's breast surgery... I would not go anywhere else. His knowlege of my condition & the pre-surgery nurses compliments of his skills had me very happy that he was my surgeon. (in fact: every mamogram I have the techs compliment him on how good of a job he did with my scar, etc). New Patients: he does share a noisy office with other docs but he is worth seeing in spite of that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 29th, 2011
Stay Away
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Totally botched my son's surgery. He suffered for months until we had the surgery redone by another surgeon. He recovered immediately after the second surgery. The second surgeon was shocked at the mess he made of my son!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 8th, 2011
Great Dr.!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Kestenberg is one of the finest Drs I have encountered. He is caring, knowledgeable and listens. On a scale of 1 to 10 he is an 11. I feel like he was God sent and am so thankful I was referred to him. He returns calls. He follows through and follows up. He is just the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 8th, 2010
Would definately recommend!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Very caring doctor. As a female I usually don't like to go to male doctors but he was very careful to make me feel as comfortalbe as possible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. William Kestenberg, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near West Bloomfield, MI.

Doctor

Dr. Michael Gray

27 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Eduardo Phillips

3.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jordy Sacksner

23 years experience

4.3 of 5