inactive

William Matzner MD Patient Reviews

  • Internal Medicine Agoura Hills, CA

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 12 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

12 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    75%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    17%
  • Bad
    8%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 20.6 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 26th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
the best Dr. I have ever gone to!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 10th, 2014
Wonderful Doctor
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was my admitting doctor at Los Robles and I was so fortunate to have had him on my medical team. He was comforting, knows his stuff, and will be my Internal Medicine doctor for life!! I am very thankful for him and will most likely have to use his reproductive services in the future. Amazing doctor but definitely a very busy one. Very grateful :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 19th, 2013
This doctor pointed us towards tests we needed...
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Matzner at the recommendation of a friend who believed he had helped her achieve a healthy birth after multiple pregnancy losses. When he gave me his long list of expensive tests I decided to take them to my RE (in whose care I'd lost two naturally conceived pregnancies) and asked him which tests had merit. He told me that APA, ANA, and NK Count should be run, drew my blood and sent it off to West Coast Labs (an independent lab) for testing. When I came up positive for APA with elevated NK count he said that while we couldn't know they caused my losses, it was possible that they had and that if I conceived again I should inject lovenox, a blood thinner, daily while pregnant to treat the APA. To suppress the elevated NK count, he said I should take low dose prednisone, a steroid, orally, once a day during the first trimester only. So with my DE IVF achieved pregnancy (age 44 after two prior attempts had to be cancelled prior to retrieval due to problems outside of anyone's control) I did both and had a relatively easy, blissful pregnancy during which I ate right, exercised moderately, and gained only the expected amount of weight. Then two days before the medically necessary scheduled C section (2 weeks before term) my OB told me to cease lovenox and two days later I nearly died. HELLP Syndrome (an extreme form of eclampsia) ruptured my liver and gave me a stroke that put me in a six week long coma. Ultimately I needed brain surgery, a tracheotomy, $11,000 in blood transfusions, respiratory, physical, and cognitive therapies (18 months of Cognitive therapies) to bring me back to normal functioning.) While most women who use lovenox do not suffer strokes after stopping it, I am convinced that lovenox kept my baby girl and me healthy as long as we were and enabled her to survive. Many HELLP syndrome moms and babes don't survive. I remain grateful to Dr. Matzner (who I believe is now retired) for pointing me towards the tests we needed to run before I could carry my daughter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
July 26th, 2011
Go somewhere else.
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Poorest assessment I have ever seen. Rounds on large numbers of elderly and debilitated patients without even trying to establish a true patient-doctor relationship. In the best interest of your family and other loved ones. Find someone else. He was randomly "assigned" to care for my mother by another questionable practitioner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2011
Thank You
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Matzner was prompt, polite, diagnosed my condition and treated me accordingly. Great follow up. My kind of doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 4th, 2010
Doctor has onsite lab and refuses to allow any labs to be done elsewhere!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The required lab tests cost approximately $1,500.00 in addition to the $300.00 office visit. They do not accept insurance for any of this. Some tests are very specialized and, according to the doctor, only performed at his lab. For the others which are commonly performed at other labs, he still requires you do them at HIS lab. This is not communicated up front. I was actually told the opposite by the blood draw lady. And only after I spent $300.00 on the office visit and $550.00 on labs, was I told that the labs done at Cedars Sinai were not acceptable. I made a HUGE mistake going to this doctor. I now have no extra funds to be able to go to anyone else, and this doctor refuses to treat me even for the conditions for which I did have labs done at his lab (until all of the other labs are finished). This does not seem ethical to me. I plan to contact the CA medical board to see if it is even legal. There are other choices out there for reproductive immunologists. I wish I had read about him on the reviews on the internet before going there. I have yet to see one good review. His knowledge seems solid and extensive. And if money is not an object for you, you could probably get good treatment from him. Couples with a history of recurrent pregnancy loss are especially desperate and vulnerable. And I for one feel taken advantage of.

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 12th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 21st, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2010
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

William Matzner, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Agoura Hills, CA.