Dr. William Nelson MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 13 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.6)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    31%
  • Satisfied
    38%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    31%
  • Wait Time 30.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

4.0 of 5
May 18th, 2016
great doctor
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Nelson for16 years. He always spends a lot of time with me when needed. You could not ask for a better doctor. The sad part is I am considering a new doctor mainly because of his RUDE AND UNCARING STAFF. These women are the first face of Dr. Nelson's office and they barely look at you when you walk in! They don't even say hello! and this is not a new thing these are the same women for the last 16 years. I called to follow up with Dr. Nelson to let him know I was feeling worse and that I needed to see him. I was told "he is busy with back to back patients" I called again. "he is busy" I called the next day to hear. "he was busy yesterday and didn't look at his messages and he is gone today" "if you can't breath go to the ER" Which is what I had to do and wasted 6 hours in the ER. and if you need an appointment sometimes you can't even get an appointment for 6 weeks! I am only giving 4 stars because of Dr Nelson's awesome bed side manner and that he truly cares about his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2016
This doc has unprofessional and rude staff!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Women that works here are rude and unprofessional!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2013
Great Bedside Manner
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Nelson is as caring as they come, you get the feeling that he really does care about your overall health, as evident by how much time he spends with you during your visit. This is also evident by how long you end up waiting to see him, and how far out his appointments run. His staff leaves much to be desired, but I'm not paying to see them, so he's well worth the wait, and attitude from the girls up front!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 3rd, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
WHAT GIVES HIM THE RIGHT TO DECIDE WHO LIVES AND WHO DIES HOW CAN HE MAKE DECISION ON SOMETHING HE IS NOT EVEN A SPECIALISE IN WHEN THE TIME COMES HE CAN TELL MY KIDS THAT HE DENIED THEIR MOTHER I LIFE SAVING SURGERY
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 8th, 2013
Good doctor, poor staff
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When Dr. Nelson is with the patient, he is knowledgeable, kind, and considerate. He makes careful, reasoned judgments and inspires trust. However, he is not good at returning phone calls and makes the patient wait forever past the scheduled appointment time. His staff is abrupt and unhelpful. If one asks to speak to the doctor, they say they will "send him a message." Then nothing happens. If one leaves a message with them, they refuse to repeat it. It is a shame that such a nice doctor does nothing to help his staff support the practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 4th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When we moved to South Elgin in 1997 we asked the E.R. nurses who they would recommend and Dr. Nelson name came up quite a bit. Since then he has been our family Dr. We moved and we still kept him, he is that great of a Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 18th, 2012
stay away does not return calls
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office staff very unprofessional. Does not return phone calls. Does not practice good medicine. My mom is a diabetic and he was her primary Dr. He never talked to her about her diabetes.She did not have a sliding scale for her insulin.She took what she thought she should without any direction.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 5th, 2011
Terrific doctor!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My elderly parents have seen Dr. Nelson for years and they have always gotten excellent care. When my 96 yr. old father was extremely ill and hospitalized with pneumonia this year, he received top-notch care from Dr. Nelson - resulting in a full recovery. With the interest of his patient at heart, Dr. Nelson will not be swayed by what may be more convenient for the hospital staff (e.g. calls for sedatives) or arm-chair doctoring by family members. He is really commendable!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 19th, 2011
Dont see him if serious illness is reason or becomes reason
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you have a serious illness or problem he is too afraid to handle a situation and will keep you drugged up admitted in the hospital and avoid you at all costs. He had me in the hospital DYING for 2 months until he greatfully went on vacation and the doctor filling in for him stepped in and saved my life. and if you do see him and become ill, CHANGE DOCTORS ASAP. My father is currently in his care and he is not even telling him why he is still admitted in the hospital and is avoiding him since we found out that his cancer has spread and has become terminal, he is a weasel snake
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. William Nelson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Elgin, IL.

Doctor

Dr. Richard Park

28 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Agnieszka Silbert

23 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Sajid Mehmood

27 years experience

3.4 of 5