The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. William Nelson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. William Nelson?

COPD

COPD

Get the facts about chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), including symptoms and complications.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. William Nelson?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
30.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 14 Ratings with 9 Comments

4.0 Rating

May 19th, 2016

great doctor

I have been seeing Dr. Nelson for16 years. He always spends a lot of time with me when needed. You could not ask for a better doctor. The sad part is I am considering a new doctor mainly because of his RUDE AND UNCARING STAFF. These women are the first face of Dr. Nelson's office and they barely look at you when you walk in! They don't even say hello! and this is not a new thing these are the same women for the last 16 years. I called to follow up with Dr. Nelson to let him know I was feeling worse and that I needed to see him. I was told "he is busy with back to back patients" I called again. "he is busy" I called the next day to hear. "he was busy yesterday and didn't look at his messages and he is gone today" "if you can't breath go to the ER" Which is what I had to do and wasted 6 hours in the ER. and if you need an appointment sometimes you can't even get an appointment for 6 weeks! I am only giving 4 stars because of Dr Nelson's awesome bed side manner and that he truly cares about his patients.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 3rd, 2016

This doc has unprofessional and rude staff!

Women that works here are rude and unprofessional!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2013

Great Bedside Manner

Dr. Nelson is as caring as they come, you get the feeling that he really does care about your overall health, as evident by how much time he spends with you during your visit. This is also evident by how long you end up waiting to see him, and how far out his appointments run. His staff leaves much to be desired, but I'm not paying to see them, so he's well worth the wait, and attitude from the girls up front!

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 3rd, 2013

WHAT GIVES HIM THE RIGHT TO DECIDE WHO LIVES AND WHO DIES HOW CAN HE MAKE DECISION ON SOMETHING HE IS NOT EVEN A SPECIALISE IN WHEN THE TIME COMES HE CAN TELL MY KIDS THAT HE DENIED THEIR MOTHER I LIFE SAVING SURGERY

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

March 9th, 2013

Good doctor, poor staff

When Dr. Nelson is with the patient, he is knowledgeable, kind, and considerate. He makes careful, reasoned judgments and inspires trust. However, he is not good at returning phone calls and makes the patient wait forever past the scheduled appointment time. His staff is abrupt and unhelpful. If one asks to speak to the doctor, they say they will "send him a message." Then nothing happens. If one leaves a message with them, they refuse to repeat it. It is a shame that such a nice doctor does nothing to help his staff support the practice.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2012

When we moved to South Elgin in 1997 we asked the E.R. nurses who they would recommend and Dr. Nelson name came up quite a bit. Since then he has been our family Dr. We moved and we still kept him, he is that great of a Dr.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 18th, 2012

stay away does not return calls

Office staff very unprofessional. Does not return phone calls. Does not practice good medicine. My mom is a diabetic and he was her primary Dr. He never talked to her about her diabetes.She did not have a sliding scale for her insulin.She took what she thought she should without any direction.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 5th, 2011

Terrific doctor!

My elderly parents have seen Dr. Nelson for years and they have always gotten excellent care. When my 96 yr. old father was extremely ill and hospitalized with pneumonia this year, he received top-notch care from Dr. Nelson - resulting in a full recovery. With the interest of his patient at heart, Dr. Nelson will not be swayed by what may be more convenient for the hospital staff (e.g. calls for sedatives) or arm-chair doctoring by family members. He is really commendable!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 19th, 2011

Dont see him if serious illness is reason or becomes reason

If you have a serious illness or problem he is too afraid to handle a situation and will keep you drugged up admitted in the hospital and avoid you at all costs. He had me in the hospital DYING for 2 months until he greatfully went on vacation and the doctor filling in for him stepped in and saved my life. and if you do see him and become ill, CHANGE DOCTORS ASAP. My father is currently in his care and he is not even telling him why he is still admitted in the hospital and is avoiding him since we found out that his cancer has spread and has become terminal, he is a weasel snake

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 19th, 2017

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

November 6th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

March 10th, 2015

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. William Nelson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Elgin, IL.

  • Dr. Tom Stathopoulos

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    Elgin, IL 0 mi

    4.6
    (7)
    21
  • Dr. Gene Loftin III

    Dr. Gene Loftin III

    Internal Medicine

    Elgin, IL 0.10 mi

    2.0
    (4)
    39
  • Dr. Agnieszka Silbert

    Dr. Agnieszka Silbert

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    Elgin, IL 0.11 mi

    4.5
    (7)
    23