Dr. William Stevens MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine Phoenix, AZ

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 81 patient ratings
  • 43 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (-0.3)

81 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    72%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    2%
  • Bad
    19%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 17.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2017
Dr. Stevens is THE best of the best!!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I researched NUMEROUS orthopedic surgeons and neurologists throughout the country before selecting Dr. Stevens. Although other doctors had told me I could die or be left paralyzed from the surgery- Dr. Stevens was brief-he stated: "I can help you." I cannot convey the unbearable pain I had been suffering. I could not endure the torture of even attempting to lie down and when I did manage to briefly sleep- it was sitting in a chair without moving. More than two years has elapsed since Dr. Stevens operated on me and I have been pain-free since the day I left the hospital. I will be forever indebted to Dr. Stevens and his suberb skills and expertise. Thank goodness I made the right choice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2017
Superb surgeon!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a 7 level fusion in Jan. '16 & it was a disaster. I had excruciating pain as there were screws pressing on several nerves. I had trouble walking due to a terrible hip drop/limp from muscles affected by impinged nerves at L4 & L5. I fell several times & made little progress in PT. In Nov. '16, I sought a 2nd & 3rd opinion & was referred to Dr. Stevens. He did a masterful job-fusing 2 more levels & then spent nearly 5 hours moving hardware off & away from nerves. Immediately after surgery my limp was 90% gone & I had better muscle strength. It's been 4 months & I'm almost back to normal. Those nerves had been impinged for almost a year so I still needed PT. I am so grateful that I was referred to Dr. Stevens. He is a superb surgeon and I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor. He successfully operated my back three years ago.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 31st, 2016
Still in shock
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am still in SHOCK, Staff that works for Dr. Stevens A1!!! Dr, Stevens himself Never have I been treated with such disregard! Dr. Stevens came in to exam room, Introduced himself and them asked how much I smoked? I stated a pack a day which at that point told me he would not be treating me! I wanted to walk out that very moment, He asked who did my cervical fusion, I told him he stated " You need to go back to that surgeon."Which I would be more then happy to of they took my Insurance. He stated" There are ways around it, that he experienced that with patients of his!" Of course he had no answer on how to do it! Maybe it is possible in his world but not reality! That is how I ended up at his office in the first place, which I explained to him. He could careless, gave me a lecture on smoking and when I tried to speak to him, again he could careless what I had to say and interrupted me! I would suggest to Dr. Stevens that he ask patients if they smoke prior to making an appointment!!! I LOVE straight forward Doctors but there is a difference between straight forward and rude! He does not know the difference, I wish there was a way for me to get a return on not only my co-pay but what he will be billing my insurance! Not asking to be treated special just like a human being! My primary care physician once said to me "Remember the Dr. & Medical staff work for you! You are paying them for treatment, don't accept bad treatment in any form!" Throughout my medical treatment 3 years I have only experienced 2 bad facilities and DR. STEVENS is 1 of them! It must be nice not to have to worry about obtaining new patients or care about what reviews you get from patients after their appointment! I also have never posted a review until now. I am sure I am wasting my breath but so upset left his office in tears! To be clear I agree smoking is not good for me or anyone for that matter!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2016
I owe Dr. Stevens my life!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Stevens saved my life! Broke my neck & back in multiple placed. Other Docs fused me from C3 to T9. They botched surgery & I was going to be paralyzed from chest down. No other Dr. would touch me. Dr. Stevens did corrective surgery and saved my legs. When one of those rods later broke, he repaired it. Have recommended him to several people. Some get upset when he tells them that they don't need surgery. He can be very direct. I respect that in a surgeon! I will forever be grateful him.

1.0 of 5
September 10th, 2016
Worst Doctor Ever
Wait time
56 minutes
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Stevens saw me following an injury to my back. I broke one of my Harrington rods in the incident, and was very swollen and in extreme pain. At first, he seemed concerned and told me I needed surgery. Then , after I rearranged my medical school schedule to schedule surgery with him, he refused to do it. He said that a stable break is okay, regardless of the pain and swelling it is causing. He said he would only operate on an unstable break. When I asked for suggestions, he told me to find another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 30th, 2016
dissatisfied
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had three visit with his Nurse Practitioner. Never saw him. Spoke to him on the phone regarding my dissatisfaction and he could have cared less. Just kept saying I'm sorry. Basically was never given any new information and was referred back to my PCP for follow-up and narcotic medication. Come see them if my condition worsened. Will not return.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 8th, 2016
LOVE THIS OFFICE!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great staff and doc stevens is amazing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 1st, 2016
The best of the best.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Stevens is an amazing Doctor. If you need the best, this is the man to see. He is an expert in his field. My family would never see anyone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Stevens and Rebecca Rosemann are the BEST in the world at their profession!! Hands down! I was fused from L2-L5 by Dr. Stevens in 2006. I developed a different issue in 2013. I was fused then from S1-T10. During the surgery, he found I had bulging discs in my neck. He addressed this issue. After the surgery, my back issues were resolved. On my road to recovery, I got infected with MRSA. Having had it treated for several months. I was back to recovery again, only to have another issue with my middle back. He went in again and took some hardware out, and put more in from T10-T5. The pain I was having is gone and once again I am in the road to recovery. I did not have a second opinion as I trust the doc from the very first time we met. If you are experiencing back or neck pain, Dr. Stevens IS the doctor you want to see!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 12th, 2016
Great Conservative Physician
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great Physician. Didn't just rush to slice open my back but acuatlly used a conservative approach. Thank you Dr. Stevens!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 6th, 2016
Very disappointed . Awful!
Wait time
30 minutes
I wish I have never trust my neck and back on him. All about business . No caring, compassion, nothing. getting 2 surgeries, after the loss of my son. Only 5 months before. For my Back and neck.2015. Just to find out today, I need to get them again. Seriously!. Thanks for my following up , answering messages & your dedication . Not really!
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. William Stevens, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Phoenix, AZ.