Dr. William Smiddy MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Miami, FL

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 53 patient ratings
  • 23 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (+ 0.2)

53 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    51%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    9%
  • Bad
    23%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 40.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 6th, 2017
Could not care less about patients
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Quick and inefficient. What ever will get you out. Turn his back when he is done minimally examining you and see ya. A very poor representation of a Bascom Palmer "professional" What a joke.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 29th, 2017
Received good news so was highly satisfied
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Entire staff very efficient and professional. Techs Jonathon, Christopher, and Jessica (or Jennifer) were friendly. Tina was OK.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 14th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr William Smiddy is the rudest Doctor I have ever encountered in my life He is a complete & utter jerk who hopefully one day either him or his family will be treated in the same manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Smiddy is a wonderful doctor. He managed to close a macular hole I had after my first surgery with another physician failed. He was courteous, professional and very detail oriented. He is a very busy surgeon but sat down with me and went over the necessary bullet points and then asked if I had any additional questions. I did not because he had covered everything that I had written down to ask him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2016
Genius!
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Smiddy is simply the finest retina surgeon in the world. He handles the most difficult cases with ease and is the most sought after eye surgeon anywhere. Thousands of patients owe their sight to the outstanding art of Dr Smiddy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 1st, 2016
Rude and arrogant
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The worst medical person I have ever seen...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
November 4th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
during my surgery he tore my retina. I lost all pressure in my eye and it started to shrink and he said nothing could be done for my eye and left it at that. If I hadn't gone to another dr who stabilized my eye and stopped it from shrinking I would have had to have an artificial eye. Before the surgery I asked him a few questions about the surgery and he said " I don't have time for a fire side chat I have a lot more patients to see" I was completely shocked by that response and didn't even know how to respond. My mother was in the room and she was totally shocked like I was.

5.0 of 5
September 28th, 2015
MD
I just loved reading the patient comments about Dr. Smiddy. He can appear to patients to be all of those things that the patients commented on. But he is a brilliant surgeon, and if you have a REAL problem with your RETINA, there is no one better, probably anywhere in the world, to take care of it. But if your problem is not a major problem, he will not spend much time worrying about it, and I imagine he feels , neither should you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Professional, pleasant, and a brilliant surgeon. Would recommend him without hesitation.

1.0 of 5
January 28th, 2014
terrible experience
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
very unprofessional, donot recommend him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 13th, 2013
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is a terrible practice. Dr. Smiddy was very unprofessional. He used unprofessional words and yelled at me. I dont trust him or his staff. Definitely donot recommend going to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 29th, 2013
Prior Patient
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had seen him as a physician for years and had become use to his poor bedside manor. Once i needed to start asking questions his level of anger and frustration at basic questions made me exit and move to a different physician within Bascom Palmer. He has a real issue with dealing with his patients. I would not recommend the use of his services unless you are use to being abused by his abrasive personality and scare tactics!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. William Smiddy, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Miami, FL.