The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. William Thorell Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. William Thorell?

Ratings and Reviews

42 Ratings with 12 Comments

  • Excellent
    33
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    33
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
17.1 min

Showing 42 Ratings with 12 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2017

Absolutely brilliant!! Wonderful caring physician. Grade AAA

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 30th, 2016

Outstanding Doctor

Outstanding Doctor. Explains things very well. Very easy to talk with.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 15th, 2016

He's the best neurosurgeon in the Midwest, he is knowledgeable and his bed side manner is amazing. He's a friend and a brilliant neurosurgeon.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 19th, 2015

Simply the best!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 2nd, 2014

One year ago today

One year ago today Dr Thorell performed a surgical procedure on my brain to relieve pressure caused by a subarachnoid hemorrhage. Because of him and his team of surgeons I am alive and well. I am able to work, play piano, care for feral cats, and everything else that I care about. Thank you Dr Thorell for saving my life.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 21st, 2013

Kind, caring and competent.

Very personable, considerate and thorough. Dr. Thorell took his time in explaining my condition to me, as well as the surgical procedure I would go through. I had trouble making the appointment (it took three phone calls and an in-person visit to schedule the visit), but once I ran the administrative gauntlet, it was worth the trouble. I highly recommend this physician.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 26th, 2013

It took over a month to get an appointment and once at the office I waited almost an entire hour before I was taken back to visit the doctor. That does not deter me from highly recommending him. He was friendly and easy to talk with. He was very interested in making sure I understood what was going on. He was very accessible when questions arrived between the visit and surgery. He personally followed up with results.

Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 18th, 2013

extremely blessed

Our family was totally blown away by the caring nature of this doctor. He completely changed his schedule to perform a immediately needed surgery. We will forever be grateful to him! And the dire situation was completely healed. THANK YOU DR. THORELL

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 3rd, 2010

Very caring and a compassionate doctor, he listens to what your saying and explains everything to you so that you understand. Best doctor around.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 25th, 2010

My neurosurgeon

I was very grateful to have had Dr. Thorell taking care of me the day I had my stroke. He is extremely knowledgable and seems to truly care about people! Even some of the staff that work with him bragged on how he is not only very smart but also cares so much about people. I thought to myself, "If his co-workers are saying this about him it must be true.I have to say the entire staff at UNMC blew me away. I've had some bad hospital and doctor experiences, but UNMC and Dr. Thorell were exceptional!They were there for me in a desparate moment and they came through!The only thing I would have changed is that I would have like to have been able to talk to him during my last appointment instead of a nurse. I wanted to ask him questions about what I've been through and I din't get the chance. I want to learn as much as I can about strokes and aneurysms so I can develope a preventative lifestyle and help to educate others.Having said that, not only do I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Thorell. I also HIGHLY recommend UNMC!!!!!!!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 23rd, 2009

Review for Doctor Thorell

If Doctor Thorell did not think outside the box, I would not be here today! I am so grateful he was at the Med Center when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor... He is so patient and kind and extremely smart! The man is a genius with the best bed-side manner a doctor could ever have. He has talked me down "from a ledge" before going into surgery, and for that deserves a medal!!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2008

Excellent surgeon

Dr. Thorell performed a coiling procedure on a ruptured aneurysm which I feel saved my life. Even before the procedure was performed, he made every effort to ensure that my family and myself completely understood the procedure and risks involved. Even the potential for serious complications were discussed. Believe it or not, we all appreciated that as well.

Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. William Thorell is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Omaha, NE.

  • Dr. Sam Shamsnia

    Neurological Surgery

    Omaha, NE 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    3
  • Dr. Kyle Nelson

    Neurological Surgery

    Omaha, NE 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    9
  • Dr. Andrew Gard

    Dr. Andrew Gard

    Neurological Surgery

    Omaha, NE 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    8