The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ahamefula Onyike Is this you?

Filter Reviews

19 Ratings • 6 Comments

4.7
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
20 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ahamefula Onyike?

Showing 12 of 19 Ratings

Very impressed

Posted on March 13th, 2017

I have 2 bad hips due to avascular necrosis. I will need hip replacement surgery and I have chosen Dr. Onyike. He was the third doctor I had seen about the problem. It helped that he had 2 extremely satisfied patients in the reception area who had recenltly had hip surgery. However, when I met him I was convinced. He speaks with remarkable common sense. Easily the easiet doctor to understand that I have ever met. He has remarkable ways to simplify, deepen or use analogies to explain problems. He also emphasized that his concern is my pain not my x-ray or my diagnosis. He was patient and answered all my questions. Easily the best doctor experience I have ever had. I will undergo surgery this week.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Capitol Hill Orthopedic surgeon

Posted on January 28th, 2016

I was impressed. He gave me explanations that gave me an understanding of the problem. He was patient and thorough. I will have my shoulder surgery with him next month.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Clinician

Posted on January 6th, 2014

I was recommended to Dr. Onyike by a professional who is familiar with patient outcomes. I fell on the stairs and fractured my ankle in three places. Dr. Onyike explained the injury, the surgery and recovery process to me in terms that are understandable to the layperson. He gave me utmost confidence in his ability to repair my ankle. He was very thorough and attentive during the recovery period and helped me with pain management. I have had an excellent outcome, despite the seriousness of my injury. I highly recommend Dr. Onyike.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Repeat Performance

Posted on March 18th, 2011

I have heard and still hear such horror stories about joint replacements. However, when I intially met Dr. Onyike he made me feel comfortable about asking questions. I was so impressed with how patient he is about answering any and all questions. I had my first hip replacement 2 years ago. Dr. Onyike is so caring and patient he has a way of making you feel that you are is only patient. My hip replacement was a pleasant experience, I honestly do not remember any suffering afterwards and everything healed perfectly. I have scheduled hip replacement surgery for my other hip to take place in a few weeks. I would not have this surgery performed by any other doctor. Great job!!!!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

My mothers knee is fixed

Posted on August 25th, 2010

My mother has suffered from horrible case of knee arthritis which runs in the family. My moms sister my aunt had knee replacement and came out worse. My mom therefore avoided the needed surgery and her condition got worse. She had become a couch potato stuck in the house. An elderly lady in the church referred us to Dr. Onyike and we made an appointment. It was a very busy day and he was behind because of an emergency trauma. However he took his time with us and even allowed us to go and get an xray and called us personally to explain the problem. Eventhough several doctors had told my mother that she must have knee replacement, Dr. Onyike patiently explained that it was not an emergency and that we decided for ourselves. I asked him for contacts of other patients that had done the operation and he provided 5 names. I talked to 2 of them and was automatically sure that I wanted him to fix my mothers knees. We had a family meeting and agreed.My mother had her surgery 4 months ago on both knees. It has been a great decision. During the surgery, he used a new pain method that made her very surprisingly comfortable. Her knees which were bowed are now straight and her pain is completely gone.I have been so impressed because she has resumed her gardening and church activities. Since then one other man in our church had his hip fixed and is also doing great.I have been impressed by the result but also the patience and manner of Dr. Onyike.My aunt who had her knees messed up is now getting evaluated for corrective surgery by Dr. Onyike

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

My hip doctor

Posted on April 3rd, 2009

I have been looking for a doctor to perform my hip resurfacing surgery for 2 years. Dr. Onyike was recommended to me by my gym trainer who had a hip resurfacing. After my appointment today, I am convinced that I have found my doctor and will be making doing the surgery in june.More updates will follow after that.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 9th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on March 13th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on November 16th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on November 16th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on September 6th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Two Stars

Posted on February 22nd, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ahamefula Onyike is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Washington, DC.