ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Andrew Shelton Is this you?

Filter Reviews

26 Ratings • 8 Comments

3.6
  • 14
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
27.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Andrew Shelton?

Showing 12 of 26 Ratings

Great doctor and Great result!

Posted on October 3rd, 2017

After going through two prior attempts with other surgeons at removing Extra Mammary Paget's Disease from my perianal area, including surgical treatment at the Mayo Clinic in Minnesota, I found my answer with Dr. Shelton. Perfect balance of confidence, competence and tremendous care for me as a patient. This was a very complex procedure but I felt very comfortable with his diagnosis and treatment plan. It was aggressive and not easy but I am now back to a very aggressive workout regimen including high intensity Spin Classes. I could not be happier with Dr. Shelton or the results!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Highly recommended

Posted on July 16th, 2013

Very compassionate and caring doctor/surgeon. Left the decision for surgery up to me which is huge for a surgeon. There was no pressure. He explained everything in detail and was very receptive to all of my questions. His staff is amazing, both his nurse (Dorothy) and his surgery residents. When issues arose following surgery I received fairly prompt response from his staff. He even checked in on my twice while I was in the hospital following my surgery with him. Very skilled, highly recommend him to anyone looking for a oncology/colo-rectal surgeon.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Second opinion

Posted on April 19th, 2012

Great staff. Wait a little long. PA very nice. Dr. Shelton was concise and to the point. Has a sense of humor, and spent the necessary time to answer our questions. We will most likely have him do the surgery, and based just on the first visit would recommend him.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Made my sugery easier to understand nd showed compassion

Posted on April 7th, 2012

I was impressed b Dr. Shelton. He and his assistant were very thourough in explaining the surgery which I was going to have. He answered questions that both of my adult children had directly to them. He did go see me during my hospital stay. Dr. Shelton is easy to talk to and I found him to be compassionate.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

GOOD Doctor very concise and clear.

Posted on July 1st, 2011

He was caring and clear, did not beat around the bush, told it like it was.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on January 30th, 2011

Dr. Shelton is positive, confident, and easy to speak to. He was careful in diagnosing problems, but was not afraid to take aggressive actions to resolve them. He spent as much time with the patient and family as needed to answer all questions. He's also personable and would engage in small conversations with patient on topics of interest. His confidence and unassuming attitude gave us confidence in him before and after surgery.

Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible Experience

Posted on March 6th, 2010

I definitely concur with the previous review and would describe Dr. Shelton as arrogant and does not spend much time on his patients. I had to wait more than an hour to see him even though I was on time for my appointment. Also to book an appointment with him could be weeks. I saw a HUGE red flag at my first appointment. I had been just diagnosed with cancer and was seeing Dr. Shelton for treatment options. He walks in clearly not having fully even read my file and had no idea I had cancer. I had to argue with him to insist that I did yet he kept telling me I was mistaken. It was a good thing I had a copy of my own biopsy results to show him. He definitely had access to this information as the biopsy was done at Stanford. After he read it he said, "Well this changes things...." I was so angry and started doubting I had made the right choice in a surgeon despite all the raves he receives from his collegues.He and his team of doctors ended up misdiagnosing the staging of my cancer and recommended everything including radiation, surgery and chemotherapy.Thank God I ended up getting a 2nd opinion and treatment elsewhere. My life would be very different now if I hadn't.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Big disappointment

Posted on September 8th, 2008

I had great hopes in anticipation to see this "Stanford" surgeon just to be rushed and brushed over and being handed prescription for completely useless drug in my case. He was arrogant and imposing and I pity his resident student that will learn how "not to give time to the patient" and how to rush through exam without thorough exam. I never even bothered to return for a scheduled "follow up " . Did I mention that he was very rough during the exam and made me sore for days ???? The appointment was compete disaster : ( !

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on October 19th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on November 18th, 2016

Three Stars

Posted on October 29th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on March 18th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Andrew Shelton is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Stanford, CA.