The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Anthony Caputy Is this you?

Filter Reviews

39 Ratings • 15 Comments

3.3
  • 15
  • 3
  • 8
  • 1
  • 12

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
10.6 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Anthony Caputy?

Showing 12 of 39 Ratings

Arrogant.

Posted on March 22nd, 2017

I cannot believe how this Dr. madede my husband feel today. He obviously does not embrace the manta, first, do not harm...mentally as well as physically. What an arrogant man. My husband did not choose him to do the surgery, and expressed regret early in the meeting. Dr Caputy smirked the entire 10 minutes he was in the room. There are many less arrogant/knowledgeable doctors in DC who are not so old that they cannot embrace issues like Cipro toxicity as a cause for neuropathy.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient

Posted on June 11th, 2016

Dr. Caputy is a genious. He & Dr.Rizzoli have made my quality of life so much better than it ever would been. I thank God every day for being fortunate enough to have had Dr. Caputy when l needed him. And his staff was wonderful also.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 27th, 2016

Dr. Caputy is an excellent Doctor and Neurosurgeon. He is brilliant and exceptionally talented in his field.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 27th, 2015

Excellent communication. Exceptional staff.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Will never go back

Posted on June 13th, 2014

His resident has no personality, very clinical. I hope he learns that this is NOT the way to treat patients. Dr. Caputy has a terrible bedside manner, no compassion, no explanations for his recommendations. Acted like it was a bother to have to see a patient. I would never go back and am sorry I didn't pay attention to the other reviews. The other problem is that he doesn't listen at all. Very arrogant!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Bedside manner?

Posted on November 29th, 2013

Although very highly recommended, the passion for healing is difficult to experience.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on August 15th, 2013

I agree with some of the others on here. He knows what he is doing when it comes to brain surgery. He has very poor bedside manors and talking with a patient, and showing empathy and compassion. I saw a neurologist and then occasionally him prior to my surgery. Did the surgery, then saw him after post-op then the neurologist I regularly saw. there was times when I saw him pre surgery and he was very unpatient friendly. If it wasnt for Dr Potollicchio (neurologist) I would have serious reservations on having him as my surgeon. I saw him a few times before my surgery. He was very aloof when I saw him. The day of my surgery when I was in the pre-op I saw this different person---in a good way---it was weird.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Find yourself another neurosurgeon

Posted on August 8th, 2013

Dr. Caputy may or may not be a good clinician; however, he has AWFUL interpersonal skills -- he is arrogant and I venture to say that dust emanates from his mouth if he ever dares to smile. He spent less than five minutes with me after which he offered up a diagnosis that even to a layman strained credulity.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Extraordinary Surgeon

Posted on July 27th, 2011

Dr. Caputy saved my life. I was very impressed with his honesty. Dr. Caputy is not a man of many words, however he is very professional and knowlegable in his field of neurology & neurosurgery. No words can express my gratitude to this amazing doctor. Dr. Caputy has performed 2 crainiotomies for cancerous ependymoma tumors and a 3rd surgery on my lower spine for ependymoma tumors as well. I believe in him so much that I have referred other brain tumor patients to him. I have never had a problem with scheduling appointments. Dr. Caputy's staff has workerd with me on scheduling appointments as I live out of the DC area. He is my Guardian Angel!!!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 31st, 2010

As a patient of Dr Caputy, I feel that he is an excellent surgeon. I had a right-temporal lobectomy. After having seizures for almost 39 years, I am seizure-free for 471 days!!! I was on 4 medications and I am only on one, now. I will start reducing that next year.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

DR CAPUTY OUTSTANDING SURGEON

Posted on September 3rd, 2009

SURGEON IS AN EXCELLENT OUT STANDING PERSON IN HIS PROFESSION MANNERS AND EXPLANNING ABOUT DISEASE OUTSTANDING BUT HE HAS VERY BAD OFFICE STAFF WHO HAS NO MANNERS IRRESPECTIVE HOW YOUR PAIN IS THEY DO NOT CARE, WORTHLESS PEOPLE TO DEAL WITH.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 16th, 2009

Dr. Caputy only took 5 minutes with me. His bedside manner was horrible and he made me feel terrible. I was shocked by the visit.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Anthony Caputy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Washington, DC.