The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Anthony Carter Is this you?

Filter Reviews

100 Ratings • 25 Comments

4.3
  • 74
  • 5
  • 8
  • 3
  • 10

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
20.9 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Anthony Carter?

Showing 12 of 100 Ratings

Jiffy Hip

Posted on September 16th, 2017

The best. Recovery very quick. Hardly any pain. His method is the. Best. My husband also had 2 partial knee and it was a breeze for him. Would not let anyone else do Hip or knee replacement.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Mobility is part of Daily Routine

Posted on June 24th, 2017

My wife has a life that includes mobility again thanks to Anthony Carter. He is a doctor's doctor and we were honored to have had him do my wife's surgery.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Hip Replacement - Patient Beware - Bloodsucker

Posted on February 22nd, 2017

Be sure to have surgery early in the year so the second surgery to repair first surgery does not cost you 2 deductibles. Anything he does is considered services rendered at top dollar even if it is to drain large blood filled sacks brought on by hurry to make next dollar. Stay away unless you have a lot of money and time to heal yourself.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on August 17th, 2016

Excellent doctor- highly recommend -performed a bi-lateral total knee on me on 07 Dec 2015- back driving/ work in 7 weeks- played a round of golf 4 months later

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 15th, 2016

simply amazing.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Incredible and Wonderful Experience

Posted on June 23rd, 2016

Dr. Carter and his team have been responsive, compassionate, and professional. We live in Northern Virginia. The nurse who came for home health care said that if she ever needed hip replacement, she would go to Newport News to be treated by Dr. Carter. We could not be more pleased nor more grateful! My brother arrived her crippled with pain...not quite three weeks after the surgery he walks without a cane and is doing great! Incredible to witness.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 22nd, 2016

Amazing surgery and recovery!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

best doctor

Posted on May 6th, 2016

excellent doctor! wonderful care. highly recommended.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 4th, 2015

He is a awesome Doctor I would wait 2 hours to see him and I like his team they are very good. THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Love this team

Posted on June 19th, 2015

He is extremely pleasant. His staff is amazing and prompt.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best Surgeon Ever

Posted on June 4th, 2015

Dr. Carter and his team, along with Mary Immaculate Hospital in Newport News is simply the best medical team available. I had my right hip replaced by him; I am scheduled for Bi-lateral Knee Surgery with him. His team takes care of every need. I am very happy with Dr. Carter and will use no one else. I recommend him and his team with my strongest most emphatic recommendation.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dishonest Doctor

Posted on March 10th, 2015

Dr. Anthony Carter IS NOT HONEST. I was recently sent to him for a second opinion by my employer. He was indeed courteous and took time to explain my injury in great detail. However, his opinions written in his report to my employer were a total contradiction to his explanations and findings during my evaluation. I don't understand the need to tell me one thing and write another. He could have been honest with me if what he wrote in his report were indeed his opinions. But I understand that he is frequently used by my employer for second opinions and maybe he didn't want to jeopardize that relationship. I don't know. I was actually greatful for the second opinion hoping that he could offer more insight on my injury, which he did. However his opinions in his report were the total opposite. I did take a witness with me "just in case" however if you find yourself in the same situation I would record the evaluation to protect yourself in the long run.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Anthony Carter is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newport News, VA.