ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Barry Benjamin Is this you?

Filter Reviews

18 Ratings • 8 Comments

2.4
  • 3
  • 1
  • 2
  • 4
  • 8

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
12.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Barry Benjamin?

Showing 12 of 18 Ratings

Uncomfortable

Posted on July 1st, 2014

I've met with Dr Benjamin several times and always feel uncomfortable. I've a well-educated individual but am treated in a condescending manner.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great experience

Posted on May 18th, 2014

I have no idea why there are all these bad reviews. (I wonder if they are all from one person with an axe to grind.) He is an excellent doctor. Explained everything very well and was extremely sensitive to my needs and questions. He made sure all my questions were answered and had a perfectly professional and humanizing bedside manner. I can't make sense of these other reviews and - if real - I wonder if they are talking about someone else. I saw Dr. Benjamin at DMA in Dedham.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Awful Experience

Posted on April 18th, 2013

After waiting half an hour past my appointment time for Dr. Benjamin, he dismissed me after a few unpleasant minutes. He did not listen to my explanations of symptoms and insisted on a diagnosis that was not applicable and did not even make sense! He was incredibly condescending and made me very uncomfortable. He did not give me any warning when he shoved a painful instrument up my nose. He also made strange comments that I did not consider professional. A HORRIBLE experience. I wish I had never set foot in his office.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Never wanted to punch a doctor before.

Posted on October 26th, 2012

Dr. Condescending acted like I was wasting his time by asking questions. He tried to change the subject every time we actually talked about why I was actually at the appointment. Literally dismissed me in less than 5 minutes. I made a misspoke on a question on my tonsils and it was like he was just waiting to pounce, because he jumped all over me. If he was younger it would've got confrontational, instead I just walked out affaire he tried to change the subject once again.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Mixed feelings

Posted on May 4th, 2012

I have mixed feelings about Dr. Benjamin. He obviously lacks some basic social skills, but that doesn't make him a bad surgeon- just terrible at communicating in a respectful and clear manner. He is quite condescending and seems to assume his patients are all cognitively deficient. He seems reluctant to make a decision about surgery and therefore prefers I make frequent visits (every 2-3 weeks) so he can monitor me closely without actually providing any care. He is also quite insensitive to considering the cost of this to the patient (i can't take off work twice/month and pay my copay and deductible in order for him to make no decision whatsoever). He dismisses parent intuition and has therefore missed diagnosing deaf children until much later than necessary.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Made me very uncomfortable

Posted on October 3rd, 2011

I'm sure Dr. Benjamin is a great surgeon but I was very uncomfortable with him. He doesn't have a very good bedside manner. He is curt to the point of being rude and didn't care to take the time with me I felt I needed. Surgery is a very big deal. People need to feel like they are able to address any questions or concerns they may have with their surgeon. This was not a good experience for me. I have asked my primary to refer me to another ENT so that I can have the surgery I need. I wish I had done my research before wasting all of this time.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

See someone else...

Posted on May 5th, 2011

Ok, I did not go to medical school, but I'm intelligent, and I expect to discuss my symptoms and not be interupted by him. Extremely rude and horrible bedside manner. Not such a great technique either (didn't warn me that a small insertion up the nose might hurt or feel odd-- actually yelled at me when I flinched due to lack of warning.) Go to someone else. This guy needs to retire. I don't understand why he's still in practice.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Rudest Doctor Ever!

Posted on March 11th, 2011

He's the rudest doctor I've ever visited. My entire visit with him only lasted 10 minutes. He didn't bother explaining my symptoms. He actually asked me why I was asking so many questions and looked annoyed with me. Will definatly not be going back to him and DO NOT recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on October 4th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on October 4th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on June 30th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 22nd, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Barry Benjamin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Dedham, MA.