ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mason Kates Is this you?

Filter Reviews

14 Ratings • 7 Comments

1.9
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 10

Quality Rating

Dissatisfied

Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Friendly Staff
Wait Time
37 min
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mason Kates?

Showing 12 of 14 Ratings

Rude and Condescending

Posted on October 3rd, 2016

Not a good ER experience at St. Francis

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Terrible bedside manner

Posted on September 28th, 2016

When you are truly suffering at the ER, hope to God this man doesn't walk into the room. I would not trust my life in this mans hands.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Who? Who are you? Why a huge bill for 4 minutes?

Posted on March 27th, 2016

I received wonderful medical care at Penrose Hospital from the nurses and other doctors on call - but NOR Dr. Kates. Yet, his bill was bigger than those doctors who actually administered professional medical care. Dr. Kates, I got your bill and wondered who are you? Oh yeah, the guy who walked into my ER cubicle, glanced at my chart and said hello - and left. Dr. Kates, your bill is outrageous. You must be good at something, but you did nothing for me.

Promptness
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Barely adequate

Posted on March 9th, 2015

Had ER visit for chest discomfort and pain, indigestion and shoulder pain. All test came back normal, Dr. Came in told me that, never listened to my heart, etc... Just said it was probably GERD, after giving me nitro to see how I would react, them Zofran for nausea, made me drink Milk a magnesium with litacane and tol me to follow up with my dr.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

XLNT

Posted on October 23rd, 2011

Dr. Kates sat quietly in a chair making notes before I noticed him in the ER. When I saw him he gave me a big smile. He seemed to be waiting for the nurses surrounding my bed to finish up. He was unassuming & put me at ease while at the same time he instilled confidence!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

in his defense

Posted on December 4th, 2009

Well, I wouldn't totally agree w/ all these negative comments. As a former co-worker for several years, I have experienced first hand how Dr Kates practices in the ER. And while he's not perfect (as no one is), I wouldn't characterize him as being completely rude, arrogant, etc. Working in the ER is very stressful and many times patients have no idea what else is going on outside their little room/bed area. While some patients are understanding most believe that only their problem is the most urgent "emergency". Also have to remember that we ER people deal w/ many, many, many "rude, arrogant, hostile, violent, condescending folks w/ horrible manners." Dr Kates does care about his patients, he is conscientious of how he does his job and is compassionate but I also believe that he doesn't tolerate those who are unreasonably demanding or those who have belligerent tendencies, and I hope he doesn't.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Perfect diagnosis- Caring

Posted on August 26th, 2009

Dr Kates was able to diagnosis the illness and the best course of action 6 months ahead of the experts. He was caring and able to give us the straight facts. He is not quick to use antibiotics and gave me all the reasons why. He was right.

Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 3rd, 2016

One Star

Posted on May 12th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on May 5th, 2016

One Star

Posted on September 18th, 2015

One Star

Posted on July 21st, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mason Kates is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Colorado Springs, CO.