The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Carl Calica Is this you?

Filter Reviews

33 Ratings • 6 Comments

3.6
  • 19
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2
  • 9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Carl Calica?

Showing 12 of 33 Ratings

One Star

Posted on October 21st, 2015

Awesome Dr and great personality

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Emergency surgery

Posted on June 5th, 2013

Dr Calica's arrogance and lack of humility supercedes any of his clinical skills. He doesn't refer for 2nd opinions even when his surgical choices could effect the quality of life for the patient for the rest of their life. He discharges on a weekend without ANY patient centered discharge plans.

Wait time
5 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 6th, 2013

Great Doctor, very friendly and answers any questions you have. Informs one of the steps that will be taken beforehand, explains eveything. The outcome of the surgeries are very good; ensures all to the best interest of the patient. Highly recommend him.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Bilateral Inguinial Hernia

Posted on May 16th, 2012

I had a major hernia that didn't rise to the level of an emergency, but I couldn't leave the house. Dr. Calica saw me right away, and I got operated on within days. I was in and out of the hospital in a few hours, and was walking the same day. One month later I'm doing very well. I think he's very professional, an excellent surgeon, and made me feel at ease. I highly recommend him.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on March 5th, 2012

Found Dr. Calica to be a professional at what he does. Answered all my questions, did not rush me out of his office when I went to see him and explained the entire operation to me before surgery was done.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Botched Surgery

Posted on April 16th, 2010

Dr. Calica was highly recommended. However he damaged a facial berve and botched the procedure so that it had to be repeated by someone else. He delivered his diagnosis (you have cancer) in a hurried, disinteredted manner and did not have time to ask his office staff to help me contact an oncologist. The other surgeon (Kassel) who repeated the procedure successfully was far better.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 11th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on August 11th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 11th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 11th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on February 21st, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on February 9th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Carl Calica is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Carmel, NY.