The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Charles Carnel Is this you?

Filter Reviews

33 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.8
  • 17
  • 5
  • 3
  • 1
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Wait Time
35.3 min
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Charles Carnel?

Showing 12 of 33 Ratings

Very thoughtful and considerate

Posted on June 1st, 2017

Dr. Carnel sees me for my lower back pain. I had a ct myelogram done may 26 and developed a horrible spinal migraine! Even though it was Memorial Day his nurse on call and him made sure I was on the schedule for the next morning for a blood patch! I have never had a doctor that was so caring! I would most definitely recommend him to anyone!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very thoughtful and considerate

Posted on June 1st, 2017

Dr. Carnel sees me for my lower back pain. I had a ct myelogram done may 26 and developed a horrible spinal migraine! Even though it was Memorial Day his nurse on call and him made sure I was on the schedule for the next morning for a blood patch! I have never had a doctor that was so caring! I would most definitely recommend him to anyone!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Definitely not a doctor I'd recommend.

Posted on June 14th, 2015

I wouldn't recommend this doctor to anyone that I like! He is very arrogant and if you aren't happy with the care you receive from him, he doesn't seem to care or offer any options and isn't willing to discuss referring you to another doctor who might have other ideas about how to help you. He doesn't do his own MRI'S to see if he agrees with the original MRI results or just to have different imaging to go by, and different MRI machines give better or worse images.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient Review

Posted on September 30th, 2014

I love Dr. Carnels beside manners, he seems concerned, maybe not always having a solution. I have visited him for severe neck pain. We have done the blocks and they are temporary and I know this when I have them done. My next visit is gonna be to try and find a solution. I also see him at the pain cliniic overall I do like Dr. Carnell. What I do not like is the wait time it is awful.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Pain diagnosis

Posted on July 26th, 2012

I have suffered with hip and lower back pain for years. I was told 5 years ago I needed a new right hip and that was all there was to it. I asked about injections and was told they were unreliable and ineffective. I finally decided to go to the Andrews clinic in Birmingham and was referred to Dr Carnell for a workup. He started with my back but went to the hip after I described my issues there. He asked if I had ever had a block/injection and I said no, the other Orthopods I had seen only seemed to want to operate. He too said I needed a new hip but prescribed a block/injection as both a diagnostic tool(to make sure where the pain originated) and for temporary relief. I had my injection yesterday and I am truly amazed and relatively free from pain. I realize this is only temporary but it gives me hope for what I might can look forward to when the time comes for a replacement. Thanks Dr. Carnel

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 7th, 2017

One Star

Posted on October 13th, 2017

One Star

Posted on October 13th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on October 3rd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on October 3rd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on June 16th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on June 16th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Charles Carnel is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Birmingham, AL.