The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Charles Gatto Is this you?

Filter Reviews

74 Ratings • 37 Comments

3.7
  • 39
  • 7
  • 7
  • 3
  • 18

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
24.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Charles Gatto?

Showing 12 of 74 Ratings

Workers Comp....doesn't want to know you

Posted on November 8th, 2017

I was sent here for a back injury from the worker's comp insurance company. It seems like if you are there on a worker's comp claim he doesn't want to waste his time with you. My last visit lasted all of about 2 minutes total, that I waited an hour for. No mri ever ordered. Sent me to PT which has made me worse. Zero bedside manner!

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 3rd, 2017

Dr.Gatto and entire staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond in helping my son with his situation. Nice to know there are still people around who really care. Highly recommend this Spine Center.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent results.

Posted on September 27th, 2017

“Had a severely degenerated L5S1 that was pretty much bone on bone and causing chronic pain. I had been monitoring it for some time with Dr Gatto and was under no pressure to have it surgically remediated, although I knew it was inevitable. Finally in August of 2016 I decided to have a fusion of the L5S1 level to stabilize the spine and decrease pain. I made sure to have enough recovery time post surgery and followed Dr Gatto's post surgical instructions to the letter. The first week was tough, as I expected it would be, but got markedly better daily as did my mobility. I believe I actually regained some lost height as the collapsed disk space had its height restored. I was able to drive after 2 weeks and I returned to the office in just under a month, although I wore a brace as instructed. By January 2017, in under 6 months, I had a solid fusion and by the end of January I was able to resume physical fitness training at my gym. Now at age 50, I am as strong and physically fit as I've ever been. I periodically have some stiffness and pain but nothing like prior to the surgery and I believe that the nerves and muscles are still healing and regenerating and slowly but surely everything will resolve itself. I have also had a successful fusion in my cervical spine C5C6 by Dr Gatto in 2011 and I healed quickly and fully. I have no reservations recommending and referring others to Dr. Gatto and I will work with he and his staff again if needed.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 31st, 2017

Outstanding Doctor. saved e from being parylized

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Bad surgery

Posted on May 6th, 2017

Bad surgery. Had a fusion and then had to have two more operations

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 23rd, 2016

Full of himself, dismissive. Diagnosed arthritis of cervical spine without benefit of any diagnostic testing/workup. I begged for MRI to confirm his diagnosis, and a PT or pain management referral for the pain I was experiencing. He refused and walked out on me. I later had a complete workup and subsequent 2 level discectomy and fusion for herniated discs by a competent neurosurgeon.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

normal again

Posted on August 3rd, 2016

Took time to explain my condition and what to expect after surgery. I now have my life back and was very pleased with Dr Gatto and his office staff especially his physicians assistant Sarah.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Worst doctor in the world

Posted on May 30th, 2016

I will never recommend dr gatto to anyone he is clearly the worst doctor in the world look at other reviews my expiriance with him personally was absolutely horrific don't go to this doctor he thinks everyone is a liar only wanting money talks in his recorder cares nothing for his patients has no humanity dr gatto is just awful

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 15th, 2016

my screws loosened and had to have big revision. H said it never happens but spoke to women in waiting room who said same thing happened to her. I have never been the same.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 6th, 2016

Nothing but good things to say about Dr. Gatto and the help he provided me

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 26th, 2015

I wouldn't recommend Dr. Gatto to my worst enemy. I came in with a clear problem, a diagnosis and MRIs. He made me wait close to 2 hours to see him then spent the entire "appointment" talking into his stupid recorder. He wouldn't even let me talk. He told me to do PT and injections which I've been doing for 4 years to no avail and then he just left the room. He's cocky, arrogant and makes you feel like your worthless. I was warned to not see him and didn't listen. I hope others will listen to me. This Dr is horrendous

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Waste of time

Posted on March 20th, 2015

Went to dr Gatto for second opinion and he convinced me to do another month of therapy. After that was a waste of time he told me what the first doc told me. He now wanted me to book the surgery with him. I told him to jump in a lake and went back to first doctor an booked my surgery. All I can say to Gatto is REALLY. are you that desperate for work that touched to con me into another wasted month of therapy.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Charles Gatto is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Morristown, NJ.