ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Charles Syms III Is this you?

Filter Reviews

34 Ratings • 11 Comments

3.0
  • 9
  • 4
  • 4
  • 9
  • 8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Wait Time
36.9 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Charles Syms III?

Showing 12 of 34 Ratings

One Star

Posted on January 21st, 2017

I will never go back to Charles Syms or refer anyone to him. He seems like he's always in a hurry. I regret letting him touch my ears since then I've had nothing but problems. He was such in a hurrry that he dropping instruments. You can't get anyone to return your calls. Find someone else.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on September 9th, 2016

Friendly staff and great bedside manner from Dr. Syms. My main issue is getting call backs from the nursing staff. I realize they have a busy office but its almost impossible to get a call back in a reasonable amount of time.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Same complaints as others

Posted on June 14th, 2016

Wait time is absolutely insane, especially when you are delegated to a PA at the end (although at all points of making the appointment, and even after the hearing tests, you are told you are going to see the doctor). I waited three hours (because they are ALWAYS behind), and then went to see the lady in the hearing aid station. The clerk there wouldn't let me see her. She then told me (in the future) to go see Robin while I'm waiting to see the doctor. How am I supposed to be two places at once? I am very frustrated at the lack of concern about the patient's time, especially when it's "your turn" and you aren't able to get the care you paid very good money to get.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

rude lack of concern from staff

Posted on January 29th, 2015

Rude to us as paying pt. The dr is great tho!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Didn't waste my time

Posted on February 28th, 2013

I tried to go to him for a 2nd opinion, but his receptionist would not let me have an appointment without going through hours of testing and many $$$$'s first. Ridiculous. The receptionist was rude and I realized that I didn't want to see this doctor anyway. Just being on the phone with his office was a bad experience.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

disregard for patient's time

Posted on February 13th, 2013

First appt. waited for over 1 1/2 hours after having 3 hours of tests. Next visit I waited for 50 minutes and was still in the lobby. When I asked the receptionist what was going on she told me the nurse informed her he was 1 1/2 hours behind. I had a 10 am appt. Now they are telling me it is 12-12:30. I left.

Wait time
56 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr Syms?? who's that??

Posted on September 4th, 2012

I had a problem with vertigo about 8 years ago and saw Dr Syms at that time. Staff ran tests and I saw Dr Syms at the end of the testing for about 15 mins. Since then I've gone in for med refills and see a PA each time Last year I went in after 3 years and still didn't see the Dr. He and the other drs in the practice have about 4 PA's and that's who you see.I know most PA's are great and his are as well except for one. we just seem to have a personality clash but I seem to get him every time. I've asked NOT to see him and heis the only one open. HUM!I wonder why?? Dr.Syms is a very good Dr. but be prepared to never see him. I even complained about that and he wrote me a letter telling me in so many words that his practice is so busy he is seeing new patients so PA's see old ones. I'll be switching after this visit.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 22nd, 2011

Dr Syms was very thorough and explained my diagnosis and the long term outcome in as much detail as I needed, compassionate and caring

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Too long a wait

Posted on August 6th, 2011

I am very disappointed in the care I got from Dr. Syms and his staff. I have had to wait on more than one occasion for over an hour and a half to be seen by a physician's assistant. When I asked why I had to wait so long, I was told it was because they were "specialists." I have been to other specialists and did not have to wait this long. The wait would be more easily tolerated if I felt I was being given a good explanation for my problem and the treatment. I feel I am having to wait and then being hurried out. I was also sent for some very expensive tests and prescribed a difficult regimen with no idea when I might see a difference in my condition.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Unprofessional behavior

Posted on November 7th, 2008

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Wait time over 2 hours

Posted on May 21st, 2008

The wait time is over 2 hours and his girlfriend always blames it on the rest of the office staff. Part of the problem is she comes in and asks questions and then he comes in and asks the same questions over.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on October 7th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Charles Syms III is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.