The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Cheryl Ewing Is this you?

Filter Reviews

20 Ratings • 6 Comments

3.5
  • 9
  • 1
  • 2
  • 4
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
35.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Cheryl Ewing?

Showing 12 of 20 Ratings

Terrible..

Posted on April 1st, 2015

My sister was scheduled as the first appointment of the day to go over the results of her biopsy and imaging tests for breast cancer. We ended up waiting for over 4 hours before seeing the doctor! The staff who were on duty were shocked when we told them that we were still waiting after 4 hours. The second visit was no different--we were again the first appointment of the day and had to wait over 2 hours to be seen (much shorter than the first visit, but 2 hours is still a ridiculous wait time). Additionally, the doctor cut corners with the diagnostic measures and didn't do a critical procedure that may have led to an accurate diagnosis. As a result, she misdiagnosed my sister's breast cancer and my sister ended up getting a much more extreme procedure than what was necessary. I would never recommend this doctor.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 11th, 2011

came to her for new primary breast cancer (my 2nd time in same breast different quadrant). she adopted a wait and see attitude. Had poorly differentiated DCIS...opted to have bilateral mastectomy by another surgeon who cared about me and my history. UCSF with Ewing was a nightmare for me

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Amazing Doctor

Posted on August 9th, 2011

Dr. Ewing are the most caring surgeon I'd ever met! Explained surgery procedure in detail and makes me feel at ease. I just love her!! I appreciate it when she calls me personally with test results! Her smile lit up the room!!!

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Terrible Office Staff

Posted on November 11th, 2009

I agree with reviewer #2, I have had a lot of stress dealing with her staff. She is a gem but the the staff is clueless, very difficult to get results of MRI and after I had a lumpectomy I needed another and was not informed immediatly and the wait between wasmore than 3 months, needless to say I am under a great deal of stress..

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great doctor (apparantly); Office Staff a Disaster

Posted on October 6th, 2009

I have met once with Dr. Ewing to deal with an early stage of breast cancer which will require a lumpectomy and radiation. While the doctor was knowledgeable and caring and I have heard she is an excellent surgeon, her office staff is a nightmare to deal with and I am going to likely go with another surgeon because of it. The staff simply does not follow up. Phone calls are not returned to the patient, follow up tests do not get scheduled and there is no communication at all for weeks at a time. I need an MRI and needle biopsy as per the radiologist who did my sonogram and Dr. Ewing has had the report for a week. All she needs to do is look at it and approve it so that I can have the procedures done...but nothing has happened in spite of a number of messages I've left and the Breast Nurse has left for her/her staff. I also heard from someone I spoke with at UCSF in trying to reach her office (this was just a receptionist person) that I have a follow up post-op appointment with the Dr. scheduled...however I don't have a surgery date yet (of if I do, noone has bothered to contact me to let me know when it is!). Dr. Ewing recently moved offices, but this lack of professionalism and follow up has apparantly been an ongoing problem for patients well before the office move. Buyer beware....you may have more stress due to the problems of dealing with her office and scheduling/follow up, then the actual issue of having cancer! Noone needs that!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Ewing is an A+ surgeon

Posted on March 10th, 2008

I am so glad I found her. She is really an expert in her field and have recommended her to a friend also recently diag. with BC.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 26th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on February 16th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on July 23rd, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on October 9th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Two Stars

Posted on May 12th, 2015

One Star

Posted on March 21st, 2015

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Cheryl Ewing is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Francisco, CA.