The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Craig Smith Is this you?

Filter Reviews

25 Ratings • 6 Comments

3.5
  • 10
  • 3
  • 5
  • 1
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
23 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Craig Smith?

Showing 12 of 25 Ratings

Saved my life

Posted on September 14th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Destroyed a life...

Posted on July 21st, 2012

My 33 year old cousin will never be the same because of the care of Dr. Smith. Not only did he cause him to have a stroke but he also did not follow through or even acknowledge this problem. This was the most disappointing consultation ever. I think he is not worth it.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

This is the doctor to see if you have heart trouble

Posted on June 19th, 2012

Definitely would recommend Dr. Smith. He was professional, caring, skilled, and he took the time to explain my entire procedure. It was worth the effort to get the appointment and two years after my surgery, I still am feeling great.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The Best

Posted on June 19th, 2011

Dr. Smith saved my life in emergency open-heart surgery. He came to the hospital on a Sunday night to operate on me and could not have been more professional. He is focused and cordial and COOL under pressure... I think of him as the "Sully" of cardiac surgery. He is a man of few words which count! If you are looking for a hand-holding surgeon (foolish, in my opinion), he's not for you. However, if you want total competence, skill and experience, he's it. He really is THE MAN and quite a decent gentleman. No regrets. Total gratitude.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

great surgeon, practicing in poor hospital

Posted on October 27th, 2010

Dr. Smith is an extremely talented surgeon and a true stand-up guy. Smith will certainly deliver, however, I would think twice about going to NYP for any surgery. A family member had a successful surgery with Dr. Smith, but during his post -operative days, he developed a common complication that was overlooked by NYP staff and it cost him. Remember it is the nursing care and post op care that will get you out of the hospital alive. If we could do it over again, we would definitely pick the less famous surgeon in a more patient friendly magnet status hospital with better nursing care and better organizational structure. After our ordeal we were also stunned by the lack of guidance, support or concern on behalf of hospital management. There are TOO many good hospitals in this nyc area, I would highly highly recommend Dr. Smith if he practiced at a better hospital.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Only for celebrities

Posted on October 29th, 2009

Dr. Smith is a typical celebrity doctor. He does his job and drops you even if there are complications. He is very skilled but don't expect him to be there for you or your family. I think there are plenty of equally skilled surgeons out there.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 19th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 19th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on March 9th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 9th, 2017

Three Stars

Posted on January 4th, 2017

Three Stars

Posted on July 20th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Craig Smith is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.