The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Darla Cowart Is this you?

Filter Reviews

24 Ratings • 9 Comments

3.8
  • 12
  • 3
  • 2
  • 5
  • 2

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
16.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Darla Cowart?

Showing 12 of 24 Ratings

could be more open-minded

Posted on May 16th, 2017

Feel she was very condescending to me. First visit I was complaining of being depressed and sad all the time and she said just wait until we have blood work done in 3 months and then we will do something. Turned out it was my thyroid which could have been caught a lot sooner had she ordered blood work that day. I am still seeing her for annual checkups just because I haven't had time to find another primary care Dr. I had to wait in the exam room 2 hours the last time I was there .

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 19th, 2016

Dr Cowart is very patient and caring. Love going to her.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Exceptional care.

Posted on August 14th, 2016

First-rate doctor. I have never been happier with s doc. Don't always love the office staff but happy to deal with it because of the wonderful care from this physician.

Wait time
5 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

office manager

Posted on January 21st, 2015

I personally loved Dr. Cowart as a Dr. she is caring and always listened. Never doubted her ability as a professional , always percise , never had to go back a second time for the same sickness. Her nurses were always pleasant. However this goes to her office staff. It is so harrassing to continually ask for Insurance verification and address and phone numbers at ANY time you come in contact with the office personal. It could be by phone, walk in appt. or picking up presctiptions, it was really annoying. They can harrassing you but, you cannot speak to them out of turn or else you are booted from the office. No I would not recommend this office.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 12th, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Darla Cowart

Posted on May 6th, 2014

Darla Cowart is a very caring physician. I have a great deal of trust in her.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Fantastic Doc

Posted on March 18th, 2014

I first went to Dr. Cowart in 2002 upon the recommendation of another doctor who said (and I quote), "She's the smartest smartest person I ever met." That doctor also indicated that Dr. Darla followed up on things well and that she did a good job of coordinating care for her patients. I have found all of that to be true in the years she has been my primary care physician. I've never seen her depart from the standard of care. She's never prescribed meds indiscriminately--no antibiotics for colds or pain pills for a muscle that needs to be stretched. She HAS given me PT exercises 2 or 3 times, and they always worked as prescribed. All of that aside, there are two reasons I recommend her. First, she knows what she doesn't know, so you are referred to an appropriate specialist promptly--usually with the initial labwork that they'll be needing already complete, so you don't lose a month between the time she refers you and the time it takes for the specialist see you, prescribe labs, interpret them, and meet with you again to discuss them. It's pretty great to have your first visit to a specialist be more than filling out his paperwork for insurance. The second reason I recommend her is because she does a fantastic job of coordinating my team of doctors. I've actually showed up for an appointment with a specialist--one that a different specialist referred me to--only to find that he had NOTHING from the referring doctor, but Dr. Darla had sent everything he needed to make a diagnosis. Plus, it's easy to get an appointment with her. Plus, I rarely wait more than five minutes before I'm called from the waiting room. Plus, whenever I tell her I have a question, she sits down and listens to it, and then she answers it simply without patronizing. What more could anybody want from their doctor?

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on October 12th, 2011

Appointment can sometimes be rushed. Have used Cowart for several years and am satisfied overall.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

to quick diagnosing

Posted on September 17th, 2008

To quick to blame illness on depression, not willing to pursue other options, that she did not come up with.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 19th, 2016

Two Stars

Posted on February 24th, 2016

Four Stars

Posted on January 19th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Darla Cowart is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Huntsville, AL.