ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Daryl Oconnor Is this you?

Filter Reviews

38 Ratings • 5 Comments

4.1
  • 27
  • 1
  • 3
  • 0
  • 7

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Daryl Oconnor?

Showing 12 of 38 Ratings

I was diagnosed and treated so efficiently, I am recommending this Dr. and his staff to everyone that asks, as I am a hairdresser and athletic person who talks to everyone. My recommendation is highly honored.

Posted on July 28th, 2012

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Dr. O'Connor response

Posted on October 14th, 2011

Combined severe hip and knee arthritis is often a treatment dilemma. Local anesthetic injections are often used to differentiate which joint is the primary pain generator. When hip injections offer no relief, the focus is often turned to treatment of the knee. When a patient has arthritis primarily confined to the inner part of the knee, with bowlegged deformity, tension is placed on the outer part of the knee, including the IT band. Replacing the inner part of the knee and realigning the knee often relieves tension on the IT band and relieves pain located on the outer part of the knee. Obviously this is not always the case, as most published series of knee surgeries report a roughly 90% success rate. Unfortunately, in the case of the reviewer below, this approach did not relieve the knee pain adequately. This implies that the primary source of the pain is the arthritic hip, which in this case can be effectively treated with a total hip replacement. While no physician can guarantee 100% successful outcomes from treatment, we strive to offer every patient the best chance of improvement with the least invasive, lowest risk treatment. To the IT band reviewer, I wish your original treatment outcome would have been more acceptable to the both of us. I also wish I had the opportunity to follow you and take the next steps when your condition did not improve. I wish you the best with your future treatments.Dr. O

Bedside Manner
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

doesn't know IT band relates to hip issues

Posted on July 12th, 2011

I've had long-standing knee issues, and recently right hip issues. I ended up with O'Connor because of insurance changes. He seemed like he knew what he was talking about. Stayed on cortisone injections for a few years, and started getting them for my hip which did no good. I hurt myself doing zumba. Went to him with pain on the outside of my right knee. He was adamant it was because of arthritis on my inner knee and said i needed a partial knee replacement and that would alleviate pain on the outside of my knee. Didn't make sense to me but i was in so much pain I agreed because i THOUGHT he knew what he was talking about. MISTAKE! still had pain in my outer knee and my therapist said it was my IT band and did i have hip issues? I said yes. They didn't come right out and say it, of course, but insinuated the partial knee was unnecessary if it was to alleviate my outer knee pain since that was coming from the hip/IT band. I am now being scheduled for hip replacement - finally. Now maybe i'll be able to get rid of the knee and hip pain. I've been living on pain killers for a year unnecessarily. He should have known that outer knee pain caused after an activity (IT band issue) along with identified hip issues would justify a hip replacement instead of knee replacement, it would have saved me a year of pain and suffering. I would probably be completely recovered by now. Instead, i now have to go get my hip done. He knew my hip was bone on bone already based on xrays!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

horrible scunm bag

Posted on October 22nd, 2010

he is a horrible dr gave me cortisone shots and crippled me bad!!!!!!!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 10th, 2010

Dr. O'Connor performed surgery on my right shoulder and I have had excellent results. My recovery was better than expected and I would definitely use him if I would need other orthopedic procedures.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on September 6th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on January 12th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on December 5th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on August 22nd, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on July 11th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on May 26th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Three Stars

Posted on April 14th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Daryl Oconnor is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Melrose Park, IL.