ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Lautz Is this you?

Filter Reviews

51 Ratings • 14 Comments

4.6
  • 45
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
24.1 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Lautz?

Showing 12 of 51 Ratings

Best decision I ever made

Posted on July 17th, 2017

My experience with Dr. Lautz and E.H.S.W.L.P. was a great experience. you are cared for by expert people who are in my opinion very well trained in what they do. starting off with the introduction to pre-op tests and and post surgical groups. the Dietitians and Clinical Social Workers, down to reception desk. Dr. Lautz and staff are second to none. D.M. Tosi

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Do not get a revision from Dr. Lautz

Posted on May 11th, 2016

He fixed my hiatal hernia and re did my old gastric bypass that Dr Giser ( I lost over 100lb with dr giser) had done in 2006. I did not lose weight instead I have gained 60lbs. After the surgery I explained how my sugars were off, I suffer from hypoglycemia, Dr. lautz was upset the nurses did not tell him (shouldn't he look in my chart?). I had an endoscopy because I was having a hard time swallowing, and I have widening of my esophagus now and I have been diagnosed with Barrett's disease. after my endoscopy dr. lautz dropped me as a patient.

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent surgeon

Posted on March 22nd, 2016

He performed my vertical sleeve gastrectomy several months ago. I picked him after looking for the best, most experienced bariatric surgeons affiliated with the HMS hospitals. He was at the Brigham for many years before he came to Emerson Hospital to direct the bariatric surgery program there. He inspired my faith in him as he is both an academic and a very experienced bariatric surgeon with over 2500 procedures done to date. His answers to questions are informed by the latest research, which he obviously knows well. He displays his intelligence with modesty, and presents as one with true compassion for his obese patients. If you need the bypass or sleeve gastrectomy, he's a wise choice.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 5th, 2015

I had gastric bypass exactly a year ago today. I couldn't have picked a better hospital, staff or surgeon. VERY happy :)

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on October 23rd, 2014

This is the best bariatric surgeon in the world

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 31st, 2012

I would recommend Dr. Lautz wholeheartedly. He is kind, sincere, and compassionate. Most importantly, He is an excellent surgeon - I am three years out from GBS surgery with absolutely no complications. It is rare to find a great surgeon who actually seems to care and like his patients.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wasted my time

Posted on May 2nd, 2012

After all my appointments I was scheduled for a gastric bypass revision. I went to my pre op appointment. Dr. Lautz told me he decided he was not going to do the surgery. Why did he have me go to all the appointments and schedule the surgery and then a week before the surgery he has me come to my pre op appointment and then tells me No surgery. I end up wasting over a year of my life, pay for parking, pay for gas and no surgery. He doesn't lose because he gets paid for his time. He barely spoke two words to me and I think he's a thoughtless doctor.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 8th, 2011

dr lautz is a fenominal doctor. empathetic,great bedside manner,very professional, very smart and knowledgeable, answers all your questions honestly and is just a wonderful doctor!!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5 Star Surgeon - Compassionate, Caring & Respectful

Posted on August 14th, 2011

I've had Dr Lautz for 3 surgeries - Gallbladder, Gastric Bypass & most recently to fix adhesions. After being overweight for so long, thinking I wouldn't make it to see my children and grandchildren grow up, I asked around the Hospital Network for the absolute best Surgeon and Hospital to have my surgery. I was told by many that Brigham & Women's and Dr Lautz was the best & safest place to be. He was kind, caring, understanding and respectful of me being so embarrassed about by weight. He stood by me to reassure me that I would be fine and to not worry. When I did have a few complications, he saw me right away, had his Asst Eileen take me to the Emergency Dept, followed up and when I did need additional surgery, he scheduled it immediately and reassured my fears. He is very kind, soft spoken, good sense of humor and has a nice/warm smile and demeanor! I am reassured every day that he is my surgeon and know he is only a phone call or 30 minute drive away!!!Thank you Dr Lautz! Thank you Eileen & your staff!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr Lautz Saved My Life...

Posted on July 1st, 2011

Dr Lautz is amazing. May 2009 He saved my life and operated on me to have Gastric Bypass when other doctors were not interested because of my size. I had to move away too soon after my surgery due to personal reasons, and I was able to call them any time if I had a problem and they were VERY proactive about my health issues, still are today. A year after my surgery I had been in and out of the hospital here in NC, and no one would help me, I went back to Dr lautz, within 24 hours of being in his care he was able to see that my Gallbladder was bad. I was sick, directly after him fixing and removing my bad gallbladder - I was 100% better. This man is a gift from GOD! Everyone I know that has had him help them with their Health, he has done an amazing job. I say his hand is guided by God. Dr Lautz is my Angel, and there is no other words for it. I have lost over 230 pounds total and I am a new me. I no longer dwell on not living and spending my life ashamed. Now I am happy, soon to be married, planning a family - I have had so many blessings in the last 2 1/2 years I would have never gotten if it wasnt for this man. You are a blessed person to get into see him. ALSO - his bedside manners is amazing. He will see you every single day you are in there with him... he will spend as much time as needed to educate you ... He is a life saver. I am a blessed woman, thanks to him.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful Doctor

Posted on July 8th, 2010

Dr. Lautz is a wonderful doctor. You have to wait a long time in the waiting room but once you see him it is well worth the wait. I feel fortunate because my situation was critical that I did not have to wait six months for the new patient appointment as is the norm, and I did not have to wait months for surgery, he got me a surgery date immediately. He is wonderful, answers all your questions and am so glad I found him!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Lautz is #1 in my book!!!

Posted on March 9th, 2010

Dr. Lautz corrected a botched RNY bypass I had done at another facility, after just doing 2 simple tests, he figured out the problem and had me on his surgery schedule. I'm so thankful to have found him, and now go to him for all my bariatric follow up care. Thank you once again Dr. Lautz.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Lautz is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Concord, MA.