The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Cohen Is this you?

Filter Reviews

12 Ratings • 6 Comments

3.1
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
27 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Cohen?

Showing 12 of 12 Ratings

Behind the times

Posted on November 16th, 2013

This doctor won't help you if you have Lyme disease. Don't waste your time - he doesn't believe in it, even if you have a CDC positive test.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible doctor

Posted on May 5th, 2013

Still have no idea how this guy got his degree. Waited for the appointment for 4 weeks. Had a stack full of paperwork and was told in 5 minutes that he couldn't help me. The only thing he could suggest was a spinal tap (extremely inaccurate testing). I walked out knowing that I had an appointment with another doctor soon. Within the two weeks waiting for the other appointment I lost ten pounds, got down to 90lbs, my resting heart rate increased by 30%, I started having heart palpitations and vomiting. Severe insomnia, neurological issues. This is all on file with my PCP. When I got to the other doctor he was furious that I had been to another ID doc and he said he couldn't help me or suggest any other test. I was started immediately on an aggressive antibiotic regimen. Every aspect of my life has improved and I am working and functioning well again. Almost normal-My heart rate has come back down to 'almost normal' too I will be done with treatment shortly. My cardiologist confirmed that I had heart involvement associated with the illness. To date my parents are approaching their 70's and have never had any heart issues or even been to a cardiologist. Bottom line: I wouldn't let this guy treat my dog Also, his office tried to double bill me. Wasn't too much of a hassle to get it corrected.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

this doctor won't help you much

Posted on July 17th, 2012

dr. cohen won't catch anything that isn't extremely obvious and doesn't require lots of office visits (if you have well-paying insurance). he is definitely NOT a doctor who became a physician to help people, it is all about the $$$. for a year this clown tested me for nothing except the same things my GP had already tested me for, and used antiquated tests for everything else. blamed his incompetence on me being a hypochondriac(?), saw a different IDD and got diagnosed accurately on the first visit.

Wait time
30 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Care, the only one to diagnose

Posted on December 29th, 2011

I came across Dr.Cohen in the Christiana Hosp. after being admitted. For weeks, no one diagnosed me accurately. He is warm, compassionate and got me back on track. He did not leave any stones unturned is very, very precise. One of the best I have met, sincerely....

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Care!

Posted on January 19th, 2011

I have had the pleasure of knowing Dr Cohen since I was diagnosed with a chronic condition 11 yrs. ago. My first experience with him was when he was speaking at a conference and seemed to be very popular among the patients and staff attending. Over time I got to know him thru my own volunteer work and chose him to treat my condition. I receive excellent care from Dr. Cohen and would and do trust him with my life. Because of him and his kind staff I am a healthy and happy person who happens to have a chronic condition. Sometimes you do have to wait in the waiting room for a bit, but not to often. I always think "he's giving someone the care he gives me". Most important he is there when I need him. He has a great sense of humor and I would recommend him to anyone seeking a Great Doctor!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not helpful or professional.

Posted on July 14th, 2010

The day prior to my appointment with Dr. Cohen, I called his office to confirm and be sure that they had everything necessary for my visit to go as smoothly as possible. As a new patient, I knew to arrive a minimum of 20 minutes early in order to allow ample time to complete all paper work. I arrived and checked in at approximately 1:40 for my 2:00 appointment; it wasn't until 2:30 that I was finally called and taken back to a waiting room. I was told that they were running behind schedule but that Dr. Cohen would be "just a few minutes." When he finally arrived at around 3:00, some 30 minutes later, he seemed far more interested in making snide comments and treating me as if I had no business bothering him. Overall, his mannerism was arrogant, pretentious, smug, and extremely abrasive. I felt humiliated, disoriented, and left far more confused about my condition than when I had arrived. The total time Dr. Cohen spent attempting to "help" me was about 15 minutes during which time he seemed more interested in belittling me as a patient or impressing the young medical student who was also in the exam room. He seemed very unsympathetic, uncaring, and snide. The whole experience was by far one of the most unpleasant I have ever had in a doctor's office. As a result of this, I would not recommend him to any one seeking answers for a medical problem.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on May 3rd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on December 12th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on December 12th, 2016

One Star

Posted on July 10th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on January 29th, 2015

Four Stars

Posted on October 23rd, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Cohen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newark, DE.