The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David McDowell Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Filter Reviews

34 Ratings • 21 Comments

4.1
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 8

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 12 of 34 Ratings

His patients are still sufffering immensely.

Posted on August 16th, 2016

He is thankfully gone but the damage he did will last a very long time.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

He may have been the worst doctor ever.

Posted on July 5th, 2016

I have never met a more awful, dishonest and disgusting person. Now that he is dead the public is safe from this creep, shyster and quack. I hope he will have to answer for what he did in his so-called life.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Nasty, ill-mannered, dishonest, arrogant and a total creep.

Posted on May 14th, 2016

He is one of the worst doctors I ever met. His only goal is to make money. He will do anything for money.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best Psychiatrist in New York

Posted on December 15th, 2013

Informal. Friendly. Good sense of humor. Intellectually sharp as a razor. Very interactive sessions. Listens closely. Gives incredibly helpful advice. Wish I found him twenty years ago. He's a better psychiatrist than all the other psychiatrists, therapists, counselors, social workers, psychologists I've seen (over forty years) rolled into one. An excellent psych and a great guy.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

A POS

Posted on October 31st, 2013

One of the most abhorrent people I have ever met.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Why can't more doctors be like Dr. McDowell

Posted on March 12th, 2013

I have only been seeing Dr. McDowell for the past couple of months. But I wish I had found him a long time ago. He is really smart, funny, and very, very accommodating. I feel like I have made more progress on my issues with my family in a few months, than I did in the other therapies I have been in, which took a lot longer. He has helped me a lot, with both therapy and the right medicines.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The Best Doctor/Psychiatrist in New York

Posted on January 12th, 2012

A Have a number of psyhchiatric problems, although I am high functioning with a good job and relationship etc. I think I am in such good shape because Dr. McDowell has helped me so much. He treats me as a whole person, and is always there when I need him. I don't know where I would be without him

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

An Outstanding Doctor/Psychiatrist

Posted on December 4th, 2011

If you want an outstanding doctor, Dr. McDowell is a great choice.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Warm, friendly, caring, and very smart

Posted on December 3rd, 2011

Dr. McDowell is a great physician. I know that he is an expert in a lot of areas. To me he is a really super doctor. He is one of the good ones, the kind that actually gets back to me when I have a question. He is flexible, smart, and I can't ask for a better doctor

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

An extremely caring and kind doctor

Posted on August 29th, 2011

I have been to a lot of psychiatrists and mental health professionals, for me, and for my family. I think Dr. McDowell is the best. He has a great bedside manner, and is a caring and very knowlegeable therapist/practioner.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. McDowell is the Best!

Posted on February 10th, 2011

Finally! A psychiatrist that is normal! He is sweet, knowledgeable, warm, caring. I cannot say enough good things about him! He is the best!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

balances psychotherapy, and medications when necessary.

Posted on November 21st, 2010

If you are looking for an excellent, comprehensive physician, Dr. McDowell is the right professional for you!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David McDowell is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.