The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Spain Is this you?

Filter Reviews

12 Ratings • 6 Comments

3.8
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
35 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Spain?

Showing 12 of 12 Ratings

Abdominal Infection

Posted on February 18th, 2014

Dr. Spain did surgery on my husband 20 years ago, when he had a massive infection and was very near death. Dr. Spain at the time looked like a young kid, so we were apprehensive. However, if not for his expertise, my husband would not be here today. We wish he were still in Louisville. He's one doc that I trust completely.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Spain saved my 18 y/o daughter back in 2003.

Posted on October 10th, 2012

I could NEVER thank him and his AWESOME team of surgeons enough for what he did with my daughter. An angel sent from above!!!! Thank you Dr. Spain

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Would NOT recommend him

Posted on October 10th, 2011

Dr. Spain has a very poor bedside manner. He does not want to explain anything, just wants to leave the room as quickly as possible. But the worst thing is that he really messed up with my surgery. He was asked to get a certain type of biopsy and decide to get a very minimal kind instead, which yielded nothing. He failed to send my tissue for culture, which is standard procedure, and because of that they could not confirm my diagnosis. He didn't try to look at the CT images to decide which the best place to get the biopsy from. He dropped the ball on so many levels. The whole process left me very upset and very angry.

Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Mrs.

Posted on January 30th, 2011

I am overwhelmed with the concern and knowledge as well as Dr. Spains' expertise in diagnosing my health issues. He was and is willing to go the extra mile for a patient and that is rare to find in the health industry...

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on January 11th, 2011

My only advise is to look around before you go to this doctor. I would not go back to him even if he was the last doctor on this earth.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

nightmare

Posted on January 8th, 2011

This is by far the worst physician I have ever come across. He has very poor judgment and is very uncaring towards his patients. His surgical skills gives Stanford a bad name. Spare yourselves the agony I went through.There are lots of other surgeons far more deserving of the title.This man should be ashamed to call himself a doctor!

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 5th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on August 6th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on September 14th, 2014

Two Stars

Posted on June 12th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on September 5th, 2008

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on July 17th, 2008

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Spain is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Stanford, CA.