The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Dennis Jewett Is this you?

Filter Reviews

19 Ratings • 10 Comments

2.3
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 11

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Dennis Jewett?

Showing 12 of 19 Ratings

Not Impressed......

Posted on July 23rd, 2016

From the moment he walked in the room his arrogance was apparent. He basically made me feel like I was wasting my time and that the EMG nerve test wouldn't give me the answers I wanted. However, he was very condescending in how he spoke to me. And half way thru the test he stopped and said there really wasnt a need to go any further. He shows no compassion or empathy and I held back the tears until I got out of there. Very disappointed with him.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 9th, 2015

do not see this doctor. Even if you do get an appointment-he may not show up (the office girls had no idea either). Bedside manner is a zero.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 8th, 2015

I have been a patient since 1968 and has always treated me correctly, shown concern with my health problems happen. This man is the finest Doctor that I know of!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Please do NOT go to this doctor

Posted on September 3rd, 2014

Please do NOT go to this doctor. He is rude, condescending, and dismissive of valid concerns. I saw him because I had been experiencing severe neurological symptoms for over 8 months, one of which was going blind. When I asked him, "what if this happens while I'm driving?" he said, you should pull over. (Seriously) He wrote a letter to the Dr. who had referred me, stating my symptoms were most likely the result of migraine headaches (even though I had repeatedly said this was not what I was experiencing), and further indicating I was manufacturing symptoms. Once this kind of information is in your record, you might as well give up. I subsequently made numerous visits to the emergency room via ambulance ($$$$), not taken seriously and no EEG performed for more than a year and a half. Eventually I was diagnosed with epilepsy, by a doctor willing to overlook derogatory statements and make an assessment based on symptoms only (gee, what a novel approach). By this time it was rare I could walk on my own, and when I could, it was abnormal because I was having seizures almost constantly (partial complex). I received a simple, non-invasive EEG with the results severely abnormal. Because I went undiagnosed and untreated for epilepsy for so long, it became more and more severe. I now have seizures every day. I have been unable to control them completely with medications (as often happens when left untreated). I have been hospitalized (more $$$$). I have had many falls, one which caused me to cut my arm and subsequently develop squamous cell carcinoma in the wound requiring surgery, (more $$$$). I have broken two teeth, (more $$$). I have been unable to drive for more than a year.

Wait time
20 minutes
Friendly Staff
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 29th, 2014

Be forewarned that if you use any medical term that he feels is reserved for "professionals" like himself, he may demean you for "googling." He is very presumptive and arrogant in my opinion and there are better choices out there.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not helpful and condenscending

Posted on July 2nd, 2013

My experience was similar to others. During my first appointment, he made snap decisions about my character and condition, then his notes misreported medical history and symptoms that I had presented in writing. When I brought this to his attention, he was arrogant and condescending. During another appointment, I had to obtain test results and do my own research because he did not explain much of anything. He responded to a queston wish a condemnation that I had been "googling" when my quesiton was based upon a published peer-reviewed journal article! I will not be back.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Highly recommended

Posted on April 3rd, 2012

I have seen Dr. Jewett for the past 4 years. He is very busy and it can be hard to get an appointment. I find him very easy to talk to, he explains things well and takes his time with me and takes my complaints seriously. He diagnosed a serious neurological problem that my family physician insisted was due to stress. I would recommend him highly.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 14th, 2011

We had a terrible experience with Dr. Jewett. He is uncaring and arrogant. His bedside manner is atrocious. After talking with my husband and me about a devastating diagnosis, he slapped my husband on the back and said "cheer up!" then walked out the door. Don't waste your time.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Would Not Recommend This Arrogant Doctor

Posted on November 10th, 2011

he got defensive when my husband and I asked questions to why certain tests weren't being performed...did not explain what he was going to test for...didn't have a clue what was wrong with me...then reordered tests that were already taken and wouldn't be covered by my insurance...I had my family doc refer me for a 2nd opinion...I was crying by the end of my appt. because I had waited for several weeks to find out what is going on...this doctor showed no compassion and just walked back out the door...had his hand on the doorknob the entire time...

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

If you want to be treated like dirt than see Dr. Jewitt!!

Posted on June 30th, 2010

I went to see Dr. Jewitt and was seen by his PA for 50 minutes out of the hour appt. She and his students gathered all my info, completed my neuro test and then reported back to the Dr. I then waited in the room to speak with him. When he came in he told me that my migraines were too complex to treat and that he would not treat me. He asked if I would see another specialist to help rule out some other underlying issues, so I did. He would not return my calls. I do back to my family doctor 3 months later to find out that I was depressed and uncooperative. ??? Funny how he can gather that in a five minute meeting. Plus I did everything that I knew he recommended. He placed a lot of negative comments about me in my medical file. Now my doctor refuses to work with me. He told me to find my own clinic because he does not have time to help me. Thanks Dr. Jewitt. I appreciate all you help.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 23rd, 2016

One Star

Posted on April 8th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Dennis Jewett is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Kalamazoo, MI.