The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Douglas Avella Is this you?

Filter Reviews

32 Ratings • 9 Comments

4.2
  • 21
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
28 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Douglas Avella?

Showing 12 of 32 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on March 2nd, 2017

My daughter Jillian has been a patient of Dr. Avella for years. She recently had knee surgery and I love that he treats his patients as his own family. She was very comfortable how he explained everything to her and I was very satisfied with the time he took with us after surgery to let us know what was done. He did not leave her bedside until all our questions were answered. he is the best and I would recommend him to anyone who needed an ortho. Dr.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent doctor

Posted on January 12th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Terrible

Posted on February 25th, 2014

I heard a lot of great things about Dr. Avella from other parents. When I brought my son there, it was an extremely long wait (roughly 1.5 hours) with no seats available. The woman at the front desk was very rude when I asked her how long the wait would approx. be. Once we got in the exam room, all he seemed to talk about was his home in Lavallette. Not impressed by him. I will NOT be going to him again.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 16th, 2013

Dr. Avella is a genius doctor, there is no other pediatric orthopedic surgeon in New Jersey worth seeing. when my daughter was 7 months old, Dr. Avella performed bi-lateral club foot surgery on her. three months later he operated again to remove pins in one of her feet. She would not have walked if not for this surgery. We saw Dr. Avella every six months for the first 12 years of her life so she could be fitted for orthotics, and at every appointment he was always patient, courtesy and caring. I would recommend him highly. Best doctor ever.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The Best. No contest!

Posted on February 26th, 2013

Doctor Avella is the kindest, most compassionate and most intelligent physician that I have had the pleasure to meet. He has won the highest respect from patients and colleagues alike. He treated my daughter with kindness and patience while healing her. A rare find..an amazing doctor.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

THE BEST

Posted on June 5th, 2012

I am a coach and parent. He treats everyone as if they are his own children. He is #1! It's that simple.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Thank You!

Posted on May 11th, 2012

Although, His office isn't close to my house and it's quite a drive. I still consider going out to his office for the love and dedication he shows in his work.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Amazing Doctor

Posted on April 4th, 2012

First off let me say that it's been 14 years since I was treated by doctor Avella and I still remember his name. When I was 9 years old I had a limp and nothing showed on my X-rays so dr avella decided to do an MRI just to be sure nothing was there. Thankfully he did because the next morning I was rushed into surgery because I had eosinophillic granuloma. Thanks to Dr. Avella and Tommorws Children I am here today. He is an amazing doctor that I will never forgot, and feel I owe my life to.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Diagnosis

Posted on April 13th, 2010

Dr. Avella, diagnosed my son with the legg-calve perthes disease and saved my son from having limp when walking, at the age of 4-1/2 years old.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on October 24th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on May 6th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on February 13th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Douglas Avella is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Ridgewood, NJ.