ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Douglas Held Is this you?

Filter Reviews

37 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.2
  • 18
  • 0
  • 3
  • 3
  • 13

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Douglas Held?

Showing 12 of 37 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on July 27th, 2017

Dr Douglas Held performed two different surgeries for me, one was an abdominal obstruction and the second one was a hernia; I had excellent outcomes both times. He is professional, caring, kind, and makes one feel calm during very emotionally stressful times. I highly recommend him and feel lucky and very fortunate that he was my surgeon and will always be my surgeon.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr Held is the best surgeon.

Posted on April 17th, 2017

I've had two surgeries by Dr Douglas Held and I've had a wonderful and positive experience both times. He's dedicated, knowledgeable, proficient, and kind. I highly recommend him.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient

Posted on March 29th, 2016

Dr. Held and his PA Andrew are wonderful. They explained the gallbladder surgery and answered all questions I had. They were both waiting for me in recovery and were very kind and professional and answered all questions and concerns that my family had. I highly recommend them both.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Happy Patient

Posted on October 30th, 2015

I cannot say enough good things about Dr. Held. He is a gentleman and clearly explained his diagnosis and treatment options with his recommendation. I had a very painful condition and his confidence reassured me as I waited fir my procedure. I did some peer reviewed credible research and learned revovery and pain after my procedure can be up to 2 weeks. Well I was back at work the day after my procedure completely pain free. Dr. Held is regarded by many in the health care field as "the Surgeon I would have operate on me" I believe there is no greater recommendation than that!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 22nd, 2015

Dr. Held was recommended to me by my Primary Care Doctor ten years ago when I needed to have my gall bladder removed. I chose him because he was recommended and was affiliated with LIJ Hospital. I found him cold and uncaring, but just because someone is not likeable does not mean he cannot be trusted as a surgeon. I should have followed my instincts. The surgery appeared to be successful. He did not see me after it was over nor did he visit the next day. His colleague came to visit before my release and I actually had to ask for a pain medication prescription. He did not prescribe any antibiotics. Other people in my family have had this procedure and all were given both pain and antibiotics. Four days later I was ready to take a shower for the first time since the surgery and discovered a huge gap in my navel. The opening hadn't been stitched properly. When I saw him he prescribed antibiotics and stuffed gauze in the opening. Several days later it was worse and the smell was horrible. This weasel finally realized the seriousness of the problem and basically performed a minor procedure in his office. He then informed me I had to have a visting nurse come once a day to remove the stuffing and clean and bandage the area. Insurance partially covered the cost , but ultimately I paid $500 out of my pocket. His office even sent a bill for a $20 copay because he submitted the office procedure as an in-office procedure. I do not care how many successful surgeries he has performed I would never recommend him and would strongly advise people to choose another surgeon.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 27th, 2011

Physican of highest quality, experience, knowledge and compassion. Office staff is professional and caring. Everyone is greeted with a smile.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

i almost died

Posted on June 22nd, 2011

he operated on me for diverticultis and 10 days later after they sent me home his stitches came loose and i wound up with a colostomy bag at another hospital. One surgery turned into 3 and i lost 6 months of my life,i willnever be the same again,,thank you dr, held

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 17th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on October 6th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on June 5th, 2017

One Star

Posted on April 3rd, 2017

One Star

Posted on April 3rd, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Douglas Held is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New Hyde Park, NY.