The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Elena Ortiz Portillo Is this you?

Filter Reviews

14 Ratings • 6 Comments

4.3
  • 10
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Elena Ortiz Portillo?

Showing 12 of 14 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on April 2nd, 2016

I was treated by Dr. Ortiz when she worked for a mental health center and once again when she went in to private practice. A wonderful psychiatrist who cares and listens

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr.Ortiz has saved my life...

Posted on September 29th, 2010

I have been to 6 Doctors and while they were fine Doctors -Doctor Ortiz is the best Doctor. she has diagnosed my Bi-polar disorder and put me on a mood stabilizer which SAVED MY LIFE! There truly are no words to describe my gratitude. she also diagnosed my ADD. My whole life I had dreams of writing a book and because of of proper diagnosis,I have finally written a book,actually two. I was also able to start a jewelry line with my daughter. Through her tender guidance,I can actually say for the 1st time in 30 years,I love myself even with all of my imperfections. I have a better marriage and my children are so happy that I am able to be present in their lives more.I am no longer in my room in curled in darkness. All these years of darkness-I even had a psychologist tell me I wasn't bi-polar. So I wasn't convinced Dr. Ortiz diagnosed me but when I almost lost my marriage and hindered my children's quality of life and felt like I didn't want to live.I had a few glimpses of what life can be like,I knew I wanted to live because life is beautiful and my children,husband deserve better INCLUDING ME. I see her now every week. she doesn't just prescribe she gives me techniques and she even made me a cd to help calm myself,she lets me lay down on her couch,I can even question her. she is calm and warm she truly cares.THE BEST DOCTOR I HAVE EVER COME ACROSS.THANK YOU DR.ORTIZ FOR ALL U DO!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great.

Posted on June 26th, 2010

Compassionate, thorough, perceptive and professional ... I feel very lucky to have found her, based on previous experiences with other not-so-good doctors. Even after discussing really emotionally painful issues with her, I always feel glad I did. She's a great combination of sharp and caring, I highly recommend her.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The Best Psychiatrist

Posted on May 17th, 2010

Dr. Ortiz is the best. I have seen many psychiatrists and psychologists over the years for my depression and anxiety. Dr. Ortiz is a perfect balance of a therapist who will listen carefully to me and offer constructive insights. As a doctor, she thinks of my overall health, carefully looks over my history with medications and prescribes what's needed. She is very professional at all times.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

great doctor

Posted on May 2nd, 2010

made me feel at ease - when everyone treats me strange for seeing a psychiatrist, she erases it when i see her - non patronizing and very professional - not friendly and straight to the point. constructive criticisms when warranted. perfect for me

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Bad Doctor

Posted on September 8th, 2008

I saw Dr. Ortiz for the treatment of bipolar disorder. She only tried a couple of medications with me prior to telling me I should see someone else because I wasn't seeing positive results. Why she chose to keep me on the same medications when it was evidenced they weren't working is beyond me. Why she was unable to try more than a few different medications before wanting me to see someone else suggested a lack of knowledge about the variety of options out there and her inability to find a solution, hence giving up so quickly. Doctors are supposed to give you hope and faith, not turn you away the minute they can't find a quick fix. Bipolar disorder is fairly common and should not be an impossibility to find a solution for. She also breached patient-doctor confidentiality by discussing my case with a third party close to me without my prior knowledge or permission when no immediate emergency was present. All of these things combine to create a doctor that is incapable of problem solving or of maintaining the very confidentiality that her profession requires. I have since found a great doctor who was able to successfully manage my symptoms and I feel great. I am grateful for this doctor, who restored my faith and trust in the mental health profession and gave me much needed hope I needed after a trip to Ortiz.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on March 20th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on March 13th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on December 5th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on October 19th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on October 10th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on June 14th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Elena Ortiz Portillo is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Encino, CA.