ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ely Shapiro Is this you?

Filter Reviews

18 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.9
  • 8
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
33.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ely Shapiro?

Showing 12 of 18 Ratings

Four Stars

Posted on December 28th, 2015

Walked out of an appointment, I had already waited an hour for, to be told it would be another 45 minutes. Would be nice if they could have explained how long I would be waiting, in stead of me having to ask after a hour. Patient's time is not important to them. Have been there before but will not be going back.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 14th, 2015

My son was misdiagnosed for 6 months. Had a trach put in at 3 days old due to vocal paralysis when in reality webbing was anchoring the vocal folds. He would treat me poor when I would question why there was no explanation for the supposed paralyzation. Called u of m outside shapiros office when my son had his checkup at 6 mo and got in 2 days later. My son was scoped and the webbing was found instantly. Surgery was reversed at a year old by U of M. The initial intubation at Bronson for the trach was forced and permanently damaged a vocal fold. My son is now delayed and in speech therapy. If I didn't contact u of m, I don't know where he would be. On a side note, 3 years later, shapiro told my grandma she just had a wart on her nose, when she wasn't sold, she went to his partner who found it was cancerous.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 19th, 2014

He was very kind to me and my child, explained everything and then took the time to talk to my daughter. It was a great experience.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 20th, 2012

self centered, patients seem to be a inconvience to him

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 3rd, 2010

I was worried about seeing Dr. Shapiro after hearing some negative things about him, though after my appointment, I feel much better. After a very painful botched wisdom teeth surgery, I was very nervous to have anything done again. Dr. Shapiro and his PA spent over an hour with me diagnosing my problems and deciding a tonsillectomy would be best for me. Dr. Shapiro was very understanding of why I was nervous and made me feel comfortable. He listened when I explained how vicoden doesn't really work on my pain. Overall, I don't think I've ever had a doctor and PA listen to me more about my health problems and my fears.His office staff was also very helpful. I go back to school in 4 weeks, and they are working to schedule my tonsillectomy surgery for before I go back. I'll update again after my surgery if anything changes, but as far as I'm concerned now, Dr. Shapiro is a great ENT, my only complaint was a long wait before my appointment, which is understandable since my own appointment was an hour. It was well worth the wait.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 2nd, 2010

I explained my son was turning 18 in less than a month and would lose his MI child coverage. Our family doctor felt he needed his tonsils out and recommended Dr. Shapiro. His staff got us in within a week and my sons tonsils were removed a week later. The surgery was fast, and he recovered quickly.I liked this doctor very much. He explained things thoroughly.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Caring

Posted on October 28th, 2009

Ordered appropriate tests and helped me when 2 other ENTs didn't

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 8th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on January 30th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on February 5th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on January 21st, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on January 10th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ely Shapiro is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Kalamazoo, MI.