The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Eric Shakin Is this you?

Filter Reviews

24 Ratings • 8 Comments

4.0
  • 16
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
41.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Eric Shakin?

Showing 12 of 24 Ratings

Arrogant and in a rush

Posted on August 14th, 2016

He was in a rush and did not seem to remember on my second visit what he had suggested on my first. I certainly did not feel he was paying attention.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 18th, 2012

You will sit in the (overcrowded) waiting room for over an hour before getting your eyes dilated, and at least another forty minutes before being called into the exam room. (Plus 10 minutes before the doctor comes in.)BUT. He is an excellent doctor, and will take the time to answer your questions.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Unfavorable first impression

Posted on December 6th, 2011

We saw Dr. Shakin once for post-op check, he was not the surgeon. He has poor interpersonal skills. Was confusing in his comments, contradicted the surgeon's discharge instructions, did not have the correct operative information, and did nothing to reassure my husband of his status. He was obviously rushed, and disinterested in my husband.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 22nd, 2011

I was blind when I came in with my retinal detachment and now I can see the 20-20 line.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 3rd, 2010

excellent doc, he picked up and diagnosed my condition. very clear explanation . I did well with treatment. thank goodness, he took care of me.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

patient

Posted on August 15th, 2010

he diagnosed and treated my retina problem right away. great doc.

Accurate Diagnosis
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 20th, 2010

he save my sight

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 1st, 2009

excellent retina specialist

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 19th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on September 4th, 2017

One Star

Posted on April 26th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on April 1st, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Eric Shakin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Great Neck, NY.