ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Frances Gurtman Is this you?

Filter Reviews

21 Ratings • 9 Comments

3.3
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
27.5 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Frances Gurtman?

Showing 12 of 21 Ratings

One Star

Posted on February 24th, 2016

I have written the last three reviews. If I could I would delete them to write just one but can't. I think each point is important for other people to evaluate. I have to follow with last issue. I came to feel she didn't like me, thought I was basically a complainer with anxieties. She essentially told me she didn't want to see me until physical. Were she familiar with all reactions to meds she would have known it wasn't anxiety. Each time she treated me this way I became more anxious about seeing her. This became an impossible situation for me over time. I left. A kind and patient cardiologist resolved bp issue easily. I recently had hip surgery and developed complications. My new Pcp stepped in, getting me into rehab quickly. It took a lot of effort and caring. I don't think I would have gotten this from Dr gurtman. She would have written it off to anxiety. A little respect goes a long way. I had once thought very highly of her. Unfortunately in my opinion has changed. I do think she caused me some harm by her attitude.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 27th, 2015

Not a good doctor if your problems are nebulous. If can't find answer downplays symptoms, too slow to bring in specialist even when asked. Blames anxieties. On two occasions specialists were shocked I hadn't been referred sooner. Actually need hip replacement but Gurtman said I didn't need to see orthopedist when I asked. In addition complaints about hip and back pain were dismissed with callous disregard. Advise walk a lot--sure while in agony. She had made it apparent she didn't know how to treat me and didn't like treating me but never suggested I change docs or see specialist. Her failing; mine was staying too long. Only good for some conditions. I won't advise seeing.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not for me

Posted on October 27th, 2015

She didn't grasp completely how sensitive I am to medications and thought I was overreacting. Insisted I stay on med that was causing serious side effects. I became sicker and sicker. She treated me in demeaning manner and told me to see a psychologist. She was not able to recognize the problem was physical. Fortunately, I was strong enough to use my own judgment, stopped med and was better immediately. Changed docs and realized how her approach had affected me negatively. Can't recommend.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 23rd, 2015

She used to be a better listener. However, now if she has her mind made up as to what is wrong she can't hear you. She caused me a great deal of unnecessary pain for quite a while because she dismissed what I was saying. I have changed PCPs.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 10th, 2015

I would highly recommend Dr. Gurtman to my friends and everyone! I love my Doctor, she spends time with me, doesn't rush me, very knowledgable and I feel comfortable with her.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Mediocre at best

Posted on January 20th, 2014

In the past two weeks, I had waited twice for more then 45 minutes and she never showed up. I left the practice without being seen due to other commitments.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 29th, 2012

Great diagnostician thorough attention to details. Calm manner and great listener.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Will never see this doctor again

Posted on October 7th, 2011

Very poor manner. Does not spend enough time with her patients and does not seem interested in the patient's welfare.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Truly a "Top Doc"

Posted on January 26th, 2009

I have been a patient of Dr. Gurtman's for many years. She is extremely caring, a great listener, and makes you feel heard. She has returned my calls on evenings and weekends at home, and personally follows up on test results. She's amazing.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 4th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on September 25th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 30th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Frances Gurtman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near West Hartford, CT.